ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED... A true Pinoy success story... My success story... <3

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171227_111159_589.jpg
FIERCER… STRONGER… AND EVER READY TO TAKE ON ANY CHALLENGE THAT MAY COME MY WAY…

“A consequence may be the very thing that saves us because it was the only thing loud enough to get our attention.”
― Craig D. Lounsbrough

The year 2017, I would say, is the most challenging I've ever had in my 30 years of existence. Why? Let me start from the very beginning.

I'm the type of person who always try to look at the brighter side of things. Growing up, I was lucky enough to have received lots of love and affection from my parents given that I only have one sibling. Although we didn't have much, my parents strived to provide me and my sister everything that we needed; food, clothing, shelter and education of course. I don't even remember having a lot of toys back then, but I remember having a happy childhood. One of the fondest memories I have as a child was of my mom reading me a story for the first time, about a princess who fell into deep slumber because of an apple, and that, my friends, was when my passion in reading and writing started. I can still clearly remember that one time when all I wanted, was to get a book, as a reward for being one of the top pupils when I was in first grade. That book still exist up to this very moment.

10926384_1097189910295169_8380441295351747049_n.jpg
that's my niece Laurice holding the book

Basically, what I’m trying to say is that I grew up contented with what I have been blessed with; air in my lungs, a roof over my head and a family I can go home to (I'm very easy to please). To add to that, I was blessed to have found a job a day after my college graduation and I haven't stopped working since. I can confidently say I’ve lived quite comfortably these past few years, being able to earn more than enough, not only for myself but for my family as well. This time, I was not only able to buy the things that we need, we also got to enjoy getting the things that we want.

20170114_191204.jpg
eat out

18033437_1678306722183482_1613520751169239948_n.jpg
travel

Capture.JPG
shopping

However, as they say, "nothing lasts forever".....

I have always chosen to be on the safer zone. I'm always cautious when it comes to decision making, whether it be as serious as a career change or as mundane as choosing which brand of shampoo to buy next. But you know, life has it's funny way of teaching us lessons. I learned mine the hard way. You see, challenges can come at a least expected moment, like a thief in the night.

All those days of comfort went down the drain May of last year. I was already working as a virtual assistant for about 11 months for an Australian owned company when I, and a hundred or more other employees, lost our jobs due to mismanagement. Voila, I was left unprepared. My biggest concern was that I didn't have enough savings to last me another month or two. I tried to find a job ASAP, because obviously, someone has to pay the bills. That time, I was panic and desperation personified. I was ready to jump at any job/company who’s willing to take me at that moment. Believe me, I was that desperate. I submitted application letters here and there (online) and for some unexplainable reason or force, as if the universe and everything holy decided to gang up on me, I received one rejection after another. My ego almost didn't make it.

I remember having this "girl talk" with my nieces one day and they said, with hopeful eyes,

”Auntie, love gihapon ka namu bisan pordoy na kaayo ka…. Pero pangita lang gihapon work para maka kaon na sad tag daghan Auntie Anne’s ha…”

Rough translation:

”Auntie, we would still love you even if you end up a pauper (insert crying emoji), but you should still get a job so we can buy lots of Auntie Anne’s pretzels, okay...”

The simple joys of a child... right there and then, I wished I was a child again... free from any stress, worry and disappointment. Then epiphany hit me, strong and hard... "Giving up is not and should never be an option". I was ready to give up then. I wanted so much to give up, but I couldn’t. I knew I shouldn’t... because God gave all of us knowledge and skills so we can hone it, and not be stagnant.

20171226_210636.jpg
Antonette and Laurice... my bestest buddies... my greatest confidantes... love them to pieces

Just days after that talk with my little balls of sunshine (Antonette and Laurice), after weeks of patiently waiting, I finally received a call from an ESL company based in Cebu City, and to cut the story short, I got hired. Although the pay is barely enough to cover all our monthly dues, it’s still income and I’m grateful still the same. Right now, I’m trying to slowly catch up on some expenses and I just couldn’t thank the heavens enough because I have family and friends who's always willing to lend a helping hand, and it truly means the world to me.

It would have been perfect though if I had someone to share all my frustrations with. Someone who'll just listen and not judge me. I wished I had a wider outlet to express myself, including my weaker side. I know what all of you might be thinking right now. Don’t get me wrong, I’m very close to my family and I know they would accept me no matter what, but you see, to them, I've always been a very happy and positive person. Full of hopes and dreams. An inspiration, in some ways, and I kind of wanted it to stay that way. I didn't want it tainted.

Then, as if the stars aligned to answer my prayers, my niece @joancabz mentioned Steemit to me one time and suggested that I try posting some entries and I did, and I don’t think I’ve ever made a much better decision in my life. It allowed me an avenue to express my mind’s earnest thoughts and finally fulfill my heart’s deepest desire, WRITING. It’s been barely a month since I became a ”steemian” and I’m having a blast so far, thanks to my fellow steemians for always boosting my confidence with their kind and encouraging words through comments.

At the moment, I’m trying to work on getting back that state of comfort that I have missed these past few months. I’m not gonna play the blame game now, not ever. It’s not gonna be of any use anyway. What I plan to do right now is to spend one day at a time to thank the Lord for giving me the chance to learn how life really works. Most of all, to thank Him for giving me a strong support system, mi familia. They are my all… my everything. Without them, I wouldn’t be anywhere close to the person that I am today….

FIERCER… STRONGER… AND EVER READY TO TAKE ON ANY CHALLENGE THAT MAY COME MY WAY… BRING IT ON BABY… (flips hair)

So, au revoir for the year that was… and cheers for another year ahead… <3

Sort:  

Thank you for listening to me ate :P Hope you'll achieve your goals this year and I'll support you all the way . Good luck and keep on steeming . Fighting . To many laag to come . hahaha

Thanks @joancabz... I O U.... mwaaahhh... <3

Wow... I just finished reading everything..

Very motivating. Thanks for sharing, dear.
#SimilarStory.

Thank for reading @owosu... glad to be able to share my story...

Welcome, hun.

I wish to be your friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 66255.12
ETH 3564.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15