Snacks and Candies That Will Take You Back to the 90's

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

Hello there 90's kids! This is me trying to bring you all a dose of nostalgia.

IMG_7327.JPG

Kids love all sorts of snacks including junk foods and candies and even up to cheap toys that can be bought from a sari-sari store in the neighborhood. We can't blame them though 'cause we've been there too and we know how fun it is to play and how yummy these snacks and candies are, no matter how unhealthy it may be.

Back when I was a kid, I always ask money from my Mama to be able to buy different kinds of candies, junk foods and some toys from the Sari-sari store (Sundry store) almost everyday.

Are you ready? Let's take a look back at our favorite snacks from our childhood! Luckily, some of them were able to withstand the test of time!

1. Plastic Balloon

Who hasn't tried this yet? When we attended my goddaughter's 1st birthday party, I was surprised to see candies and toys from my childhood. It was just sad that my young nieces aren't familiar with these anymore so I introduced it to them and guess what? They loved it! ❤

Here are some of the photos that I took to "document" how plastic balloon works.

 

This is my niece on her 4th plastic balloon. Haha! She's definitely enjoying it!

This is also one of my favorite thing to buy from the store. It's also cheap so I get to buy one after another until I ran out of coins.

2. Doo Doo Candy

This candy looks like a pacifier. You suck it like how you would normally do with a pacifier and it has a citrus taste which is really good. ☺️I believe its name was derived from the word "dudu" which means a baby asking for milk from her Mama. 😁

3. Mik-Mik

Mik-mik is a sweetened powder which comes in two flavors, milk and chocolate. This sachet comes with a straw and the milk powder is normally sipped. I remember this used to be our cigarette as a kid. We sip the powder and then blow it out in the air like it is a smoke. Kids would always love to imitate what the adults are doing. This is one of the addicting snacks during my childhood! Good thing we still have it in the market 'til now. ❤

4. Haw haw and Butterballs

Haw haw is a rectangular shaped candy. It is a milky powder candy which melts in your mouth. This is so good! While as, butterballs are sweet- butterscotch flavored round candies which is in color orange. This is often the source of my sore throats before but I still didn't regret eating it. 😁

5. Mini Colored Puto Seko

This is another favorite of mine and it's priced at only 1Peso each if I remember it right. Kids love it probably because it's more enjoyable to eat compared to the plain white puto seko plus it melts in your mouth.

Look at those mini colored Puto Seko. It's only sold at P10 per pack making it really cheap and easy to buy.

I went to the public market weeks ago and I went to the section were candies and snacks are sold. I really searched for these and some other more because I'd like to have a taste of my childhood again. It definitely helped reduce some stress. ❤

Here are some of the photos that I took at the public market.

IMG_8588.JPG

Look at those merengue and the ube in the cone!

IMG_8589.JPG

the sweet lollipops. It's the last one so I bought it right away!

IMG_8586.JPG

IMG_8593.JPG

IMG_8594.JPG

so many kinds of candies!!

There are still loads of snacks that I wasn't able to mention here and I don't really know if they still exist. Some of those are Haw Flakes which we referred to as Hostia(sacramental bread) when we are reenacting the receiving of the sacred bread in the church, vinegar pusit, Lala, Ovaltine and a lot more!

This is one of the reasons why I think my childhood is better than any other child in this generation. 90's kids survived the time wherein there are no gadgets like phones and tablets, playtime is outside of your house and is most of the time physical and lastly, we get to experience these yummy snacks that are now less known.

How about you, what are your favorite snacks from your childhood? Share it with us in the comment section below. ❤

Thanks for reading!

All photos are mine
Camera: iPhone 6s

Much love,
IMG_0581.GIF
IMG_9136.PNG

Sort:  

ooh! all the candy candy! :) yum!

Ate..what camera used mo? Pakilagay to give credit sa yo.

i am using iPhone 6s. I already edited the post. 😊❤

From your list, I loved the colorful puto seko, plastic balloon.
Tapos I love un champoi, minatamis na sampalok na bilog bilog. And "sweet corn"... 😅😂

haha i love sweetcorn too! champoi, not that much. haha 😅 childhood memories ❤

wow I think the last time I eat expo is when I was in grade school haha. mik mik is when I was in grade 4 lol...

i still eat mik-mik up to this day hahaha!

I'm too old to remember my favorite candies before but I see some from those pics hehe. Nice article!

it's really nice to look back sir long. i had a fun childhood! haha ❤thankyou

Meron ba dyan Wonder Boy? Been searching for it for years! haha!

wonder-boy-snack.jpg

i'm not really sure kung meron pa. haha! di ko natignan 😂

I love Mik-mik, Haw-haw and plastic balloons! These candies never gets old..

true that sis! it just never gets old! ❤

How ironic. I just came back from the store and bought me some Sugo peanuts and lollipops for my daughter :D Back when I was a little, my fave was "baltik" lol

hahaha nice timing pala ako sis! ito ang talagang bnabalik balikan ko sa palengke 😂❤

thanks for shearing post.i am interesting your post.I know philipines baby food.please upvote sir.

Angdaming candies. I don't like candies eversince pero parang gusto ko na dahil sa mga kuha. heheee

thankyouu sissy! 😘❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54260.16
ETH 2859.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01