2 weeks ago, I got a new phone. 2 days ago, I lost it.

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

You read it right, Steemians! If you’ve been following my blog, you’ve probably seen my recent post about this new 64G Huawei P10. Today's the last time I'll talk about it 'cause it's already gone. 

Pfft!!!.. in just 12 days!

The Happy Reunion

On the night of the 28th, I went out to meet 3 of my girl friends in a bar (one of them being @dawnsheree). It has been more than a year since we've last gotten together so we made the most of that "catch-up night" by nonstop talking about anything and everything under the sun (or moon, in this case?). We had fun over pizza, french fries, sisig (the ultimate Pinoy pulutan) and, of course, beer! We enjoyed each other's company that we hardly checked on our phones.

You'll forget about your phone when you're with these beautiful and brilliant ladies..but it wasn't how I lost my phone!

The Unfortunate Turn of Events

Feeling tipsy after a few bottles, we decided to call it a night at around 4AM (or call it a day, in this case?). We took a taxi; I sat next to the driver and, apparently, dozed off on our way home. One of my friends had to wake me up when we reached our drop off point. I was the last one to step out and just as soon as the taxi zoomed off, I found out my phone is neither in my pocket nor my bag. I was sure then that I dropped it inside the cab as, last time I remembered, I was holding it before falling asleep.

Found out it's nowhere to be found!

Hunting Time

It was hard for us to locate both the taxi and the driver for we were unable to obtain any identification like the cab’s body and license plate numbers. Heck, I don’t even remember how the driver looked like! We called my number numerous times and it would just keep on ringing and ringing but nobody would answer. We also sent a barrage of SMS asking to contact us, but to no avail. Alas, there were no tracking and security apps installed. Even Google’s Find My Device feature can’t map its location. We were able to follow some GPS movements for some time via an app, but the tracker soon stopped updating. As expected, my number went unavailable/ cannot be reached eventually.

We followed it like crazy!

The Search is Over

I tried my best to retrieve it, even to the point of reporting it to the police. They told me I would’ve a fat chance of recovering my phone back, based on similar cases they handled in the past. They then referred me to another station. Discouraged, I decided to just call it quits. I immediately erased all data in my phone remotely via Google and then called my provider to temporarily suspend service. They also permanently blocked the IMEI so the phone will be as good as useless.

It hurts so bad but I badly want it as good as useless!

Lessons Learned the Hard Way:
  • Prioritize phone security! – Set up foolproof tracking or security apps.. and maybe stick a contact name and number somewhere in your phone?
  • Stay alert when traveling! – Especially when on the road at night, try to stay awake.
  • Always take note of important identification number's such as taxi body number, plate number, taxi driver/operator name and send it to someone you trust, in case something bad happens. God forbid!
  • Avoid drinking alcohol too much to cause you to go unconscious, unless you’re about to go to bed.
  • Accept with no regrets! As they say, everything happens for a reason. Just stop asking for an explanation and enough of the what if’s.
  • Move on!(Insert all the motivational clichés you know) Remind yourself that the world has much bigger problems than you! Watching/ reading news should be a great start!

This too shall pass!

img source

1 2 3 4

Sort:  

Ga guol ko na nagkatawa sa imong post! Lessons learned the hard way indeed. I hope this would be the last time that you'll lose any of your precious belongings.

ikatawa na lang kay wa nay mahemz. hahaha

Welcome back fret! Mabalik rah na adlaw adlaw lng ta diri. Makapalit ra u ug phone. ^^

Maynta fret! haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61