Overwhelmed With Gratitude

in #philippines6 years ago

I just finished a 10-hour graveyard shift but I could not go to sleep yet without having to write this. Yesterday, I was going to make a gratitude post because I finally earned my first Steem Dollar but life got in the way (yes, you guessed it -- Adulting and Chores). When I got back on my laptop, got a chance to talk to Karen @mermaidvampire who said she was writing a post about us and "crying AF".

kar.JPG

This got me excited because honestly, it's isn't every day that someone gets to write about me. By the time she was done writing, I was already out to do some more errands... So when I finally had time to sit down and read what she wrote, I was blown away. I didn't notice tears were already falling uncontrollably while I was reading. I was overwhelmed with emotions, particularly of elation and gratitude. Her narration brought me back to that fateful day we met on Facebook, to the roots of our friendship and the humble beginnings of Dialysis Support Group, Philippines (DSGP). At first I created the group just so patients like me will have a venue to interact with fellow patients, I really did not have a vision then. You see, I may have created DSGP but Karen sparked something in me, she inspired me to give the group direction, to serve a purpose and basically be a significant entity in the community. I didn't know then that through this group, we can actually make an impact on society and make a difference in our fellow dialysis patients' lives.

IMG_0043.JPG
Karen and Donna's first photo together! Cebu, Philippines 2Oct2017

There are too many things in my mind that I want to put in to words but it can be summed into two words: THANK YOU.

Thank you, Karen for the gift of friendship. I love the dynamics of our bond, how we always have each other's backs and how we cheer each other on. It's amazing how we found each other in this crazy world. You inspire me to strive for greater things, to actually make a difference, to be more than just a bystander or a wallflower. Thank you for introducing me to Steemit! This is such a positive community, everyone is very helpful and it's really awesome how everyone brings out the best in each other. Aside from this overwhelming gratitude I'm feeling, I also feel at home here -- I just want to take this moment to thank everyone who took time to read my posts, reesteemed, upvoted, and cared enough to leave words of encouragement. It's been an awesome first week for me here at Steemit, thank you so much for the warm welcome! :)

Sort:  

Thanks, Donna! You deserve all that and more. Hopefully when I see you again, I would have high hemoglobin so I don't look so pale and sick. Ahahaha! Kanus-a kaha ta magkita usab?

This post has received a 2.14% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @mermaidvampire. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

God bless you and Karen aka @mermaidvampire

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65