I♥Philippines- The Infamous Mañana Habit

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)



Hello Steemit Fretz!

I’m proud to be a Filipino! We are very patriotic. We have very admirable traits. However, as human as we are, we are not perfect. We also have flaws like everyone else. We also have some common traits that have been present for centuries and one of them is the Mañana Habit.

What is Mañana Habit?

 
Image Source
 

Mañana is a Spanish word, which means tomorrow.

This habit is common among Filipinos. This is the practice of putting off things for another day than doing it today.

This habit is also known as procrastination. I know this is a common bad trait to most of us but this habit has been passed on from generations. (I really can’t explain why, but this has been a big problem in our culture). This can also be proven with our disregard of time.

Note: Filipino time means going beyond the deadline or going beyond the meeting time (always late).

"It’s not Urgent, I’ll just do it Tomorrow"

This habit commonly happens when you are facing a difficult task or a task that you don’t like doing. Think about those moments when you pointlessly delay doing something. Most probably they are difficult to do, takes a long time or you just don’t like doing it.

From what I’ve observed, we easily find distractions to make us seem “busy” and reason out that the task at hand is not that important and can be done much later or the next day.

I also learned a few tricks on how to face this kind of situation (I’m not perfect I also give in to this habit). I always ask myself this, “Do what’s not important now and then stressed about it because I haven’t done it yet or do I want to get rid of this task ASAP and then have a stress-free day after that?”


Mañana Habit – How to Get Rid of it



 

How do we stop ourselves from fooling around and making endless excuses? Here a few simple things that you can do to not do such thing.

1. The Five-minute Trick

This one I usually do, I tell myself, especially when writing posts, “I’ll do this for five minutes and if it’s really not working I’ll stop and do it later.”

Majority of the time, I’d go over the five-minute mark and I’d end up completing the task. You should give this a try, you’ll be so engrossed that you just can’t help it but continue what you’re doing.

2. Reward Yourself

Give yourself something in return for a job well done. ”If I do this, I can go out with my fretz this weekend. If I finish this, I’ll binge-watch my favorite TV show.”

The most important thing here is you shouldn’t see the task as depriving yourself. Instead look at it as a guarantee that you’ll be able to relax and have fun later.

3. Get Rid of Distractions

Doing things that you don’t like or doing the things that are very difficult makes you have that powerful urge of getting your attention at other things. Your mind wanders off and you are very susceptible to interruptions.

I usually do this by turning off my phone or have it in silent mode and keep it away as far as possible. You can also sign-out of your messaging application so I can concentrate on what I’m doing.

Even if you’re a Filipino or not, we are guilty of this habit. This trait is not just common among Filipinos, this can help anyone to be more productive and know how to prioritize. I hope you have learned something today my fretz!

@dawnsheree

Earn Upvotes with Steemfollower

Image sources are from Pexels and Pixabay

Berserkers


Learn and Improve Daily by Checking out Our Discord Channel

Sort:  

Ouch! I haven't posted in a while because of my Mañana habit + Ningas Cogon attitude. Thanks for the tips, fret. Hope get back on track soon! Hahaha

Yes, fret super na jud! Balik na

Nice suggestion I think I will give it a try, thanks for sharing keep up the good work.

Thanks for dropping by.

Stressing about a 'chore' takes more time and is often worse than just doing it. Thanks for the advice on how to overcome manana. That's what I'll do to make myself more productive (well, 95% of the time – we're all human, eh)
procrastination.jpg

Hi Anj! I don't like stressing it out too. If it's too much I'll just sit it out and get back to it when I've cleared my mind.

Post looks better than all posts before!
Besides that, I like what you have written Dawn.

Best advice is and will always be -> Just do it.

Yes, thanks for the help.

Oh, maniana habit! Guilty me 😥

Me too definitely.

Interesting post i love this will try this one out for sure :)
Thanks a lot for sharing

Yes, this can help lots.

Great advice, especially that 5 minute trick. I'd fall for that no problem.

Is that cat drinking coffee?

Just looking at the coffee I guess. Lol

i think its everywhere we all are humans so not a big deal :)

It's better to do something about it too.

The Portuguese culture also has that habit.
We call it the "Deixa Andar" habit...

...by the way, that is a fat cat!
Cheers

Hahaha it is. Thanks for teaching me a little bit of Portuguese

@dawnsheree This is really a fact that should be considered by everyone
Most especially Young people...
Thank you for this food for thought

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70