Taal Volcano: The Unique Island Volcano Within A Lake

in #philippines7 years ago

Taal Volcano (Filipino: Bulkang Taal) is a complex volcano located on the island of Luzon in the Philippines. It is the second most active volcano in the Philippines with 33 historical eruptions. All of these eruptions are concentrated on Volcano Island, an island near the middle of Taal Lake. The lake partially fills Taal Caldera, which was formed by prehistoric eruptions between 140,000 and 5,380 BP. Viewed from Tagaytay Ridge, Taal Volcano and Lake presents one of the most picturesque and attractive views in the Philippines. It is located about 50 kilometres (31 miles) south of the capital of the country, the city of Manila.

Wikipedia

Taal Volcano is an island, within an island and again within an island on earth. Or a lake, within a lake and within the body of water which is the sea. Ok, I have to admit that I may have got it confusing with the way I wrote it. Below is a picture to further illustrate what I really meant.

There is an island inside that island that you see in the middle of the photo. Or there is a lake inside that island in the middle of the photo and this island is also within the lake and on the top part of the photo is the body of water that surrounds the island of Luzon, Philippines.

A map from Google, that is the island or to be exact that is Taal Volcano.

A closer look from Google maps.

You see, it is very well an active volcano and you’ll find some steam smoking out along the trails like that one as found in the photo.

There are many smaller craters within this small island volcano like that one on the upper third part of the photo.

The mouth of the main crater of Taal Volcano. The soil you’ll find here can vary in color from one place to another.

That is an island inside the main crater. When the alarm is lifted, it is permitted to go to that island by riding a native canoe called “bangka” amongst the local people. If you’re brave enough, one can also swim towards that island.

A local version of the small boat used to transport tourists towards the Taal Island Volcano. Yet, it kept my former classmate thinking that the front and back end of this small boat may look like not native at all. Or, they may have just copied it from other countries? He really doesn’t know, it looks to him like the ones used by the ancient Phoenicians.

There are also zipline rides for tourists nearby.

And it seems to be that a higher crater mouth once stood here in ancient times and large super eruptions may have caused it like what we see at present and it is called a Caldera.

Thank you for reading my posts and enjoy your week ahead of you.




Source: The travel adventures of my former classmate.



Follow me as @darthnava: "To post or not to post..."

Sort:  

Yes, Philippians I have been there, but it would seemingly take a lifetime to see all 1000+ islands. You certainly picked out a good unique one to write about. I just wish the Philippians was a little more traveler friendly. There is solid tourist trail through that country, leaving so much of the rest of it difficult, expensive, very remote and hard to see.

I just went to these beaches today in Thailand. Cost me 9 dollars from Krabi Town by taxi boat round trip 45 mionutes each way. Some of the most beautiful and pristine beaches I've ever been to. With people rock climbing the cliffs all around. Monkeys too!
railay-map.jpg
Thanks for sharing this post glad I can relate and add something to it as well. Hope you are doing well my friend. Good day :)

Thanks for sharing your adventures. I am sorry but my country is called The Philippines, not Philippians. And the people are called Filipinos.

Ha ha. The Philippines, I used the steemit spell check and it changed it to Phillipians. Check it out yourself. Sorry didn't mean to offend. You're country is beautiful.

That's OK. Most foreigners have a hard time spelling it the first time. Yes, most Pacific Island countries are beautiful.

Cool brother. It makes me happy to see you are proud of your country. I had a great time visiting there some years ago. Are you in Manila?

No, I live in Cagayan de Oro City.

Oh Wow. You're in the south, next to El Salvador City. I'm assuming with names like that this part of the country has some Spanish influence? I've only been to Cebu about 8 years ago. Suddenly you have me considering another trip to the Philippines. Have a great day my friend :)

Thanks, have a good day too.

Excellent post my friend, all of the photographs are super cool and beautiful especially the shot of a man moving through zip line wow it would be an amazing experience after using that zip line and also like that beautiful boat standing at the shore of the river, i really like that tal volcano and island with in and island wow that's so strange and unique also, thanks my friend for telling us about such unique places on earth, Stay awesome

Informative post. You very well introduced about this island. That is a awesome island. And all the images which you used are also so superb.

We pass there each time we go from our town, Batangas, to Cavite. I remember when I was a child, I would always chose to be seated where I can have the best view from the car. 😊

Your childhood must have been good and full of adventures.

Fortunately it was, thanks to simple barrio living. 😉

damm such a beautiful place a hidden gem of the nature thanks for sharing much about it its a pleasure to know about it :D

Nature is indeed cool and have not heard about it though !
1st felt a little confused about the description but very well explained!
Nice post buddy !

kuya darth knice diha , i hope mkatravel ko diha puhon ;))

Unta sa future siguro. Salamat sa comment.

I just had seen that volcano from a distance when we went to my aunt's place in Laurel Batangas. Very beautiful place indeed around it because of the sea and the crisp air that blows around.

You will visit it again, someday.

Looks like a beautiful place
its a pleasure to know about it :D

beautiful view, seen it once. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43