Dear Diary: I Will Be Consulting to an Endocrinologist Today

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

WIN_20170819_08_04_56_Pro.jpg

Mother, mother I am sick, call a doctor very quick. Doctor, doctor will I die? No my darling Cryptopie

I have a mixed feelings of what will happen today and I will just try to be passive when I get to finally see a working Endocrinologist for me once again because the last time didn't work well. I am now armed with results from the laboratory workup from just a few days ago and there the doctor will see my off the charts intact parathyroid test results.

I will be expecting that the doctor will give me medicine in order to control the parathyroid but my nurse friend had told me that those medicines are quite expensive and then they will require me to take another parathyroid lab test every three months to see if it is working. If it is not, then they will advice for a parathyroidectomy which is taking about 85% of the parathyroid in order to control the hormone it is releasing that makes my bone weak.

My other lab results shows that I have no infections, my liver is still not affected by my Hepatitis infection. I have a normal blood cholesterol and lipids. Uric acid is okay too, a little elevation on potassium thanks to everyday mash potato meal with gravy. But the phosphorus is quite high which is not good really then elevations on others like creatinine and blood urea nitrogen which is normal for a dialysis patient. But nothing that could make me feel ill.

The only hard thing for me today is the pains when I start to get up and walk and sit but today I will maybe not wait for long to the doctor because last friday my mother managed to enlist me to get to the number 1 slot. So today we will have to be early and get to the clinic before 8:00 AM today.

I hope that the doctor will give me an option to get the surgery but I have a complication, a comorbidity as they say where multiple diseases just hinders a procedure to be done so it gives me a reason to get worried that what I will be expecting won't happen like controlling or stopping the progression of what you are seeing now and what you don't see like the pain that I am suffering from. It will be like a punch on the moon this fight that I am battling with but with God and Steemians friends on my right, that hope is still reachable. God help us all.

Sort:  

In God nothing is imposible. Praying for you always @cryptopie

Thinking of you today. Hope the appointment was OK

Thank you @girlbeforemirror
It went well Marg

See my friend- that's what gets me! Every time I get my liver tests back everything is normal... every time! That's what makes suspicious. My doctor wants to treat me for a disease that has no symptoms, no adverse effects on anything. I tell her why not give me medicine for other people's diseases, maybe it will make them feel better!!!

Yes I don't know why my SGPT SGOT is still normal while I am Hep B positive for more than 20 years already.

I think it's an insurance scam! (But I'm conspiracy nut!) All my tests are fine too and she keeps telling me I have Hep C... I'm not sure what lipids are- but they're fine as well!

The medication your nurses are probably referring to is something called synthroid and they are right it is quite expensive. Our government doesn't even cover it.
Good luck today! I hope there's no runaround or problems

Hi @lizzyib I am glad to see you back
Thank you for that info, I will really not take that medicine if its very expensive.

I don't even take it! You really have to jump through hoops here to get the government to get a portion of the cost covered. Parathyroidectomy is your best option I think and ASAP

Cryptopie! Sending good vibes your way Arnold :)

Very sad.i resteem it

Congratulations @cryptopie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @cryptopie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79