DUTERTARDS: Why Pres. Duterte is Still Loved by Most Filipinos?

in #philippines7 years ago

I'm from the Philippines. I voted for our infamous president even if he cuss, says bad things, and even despite/in spite his jokes on rape and tale on women.I sometimes really want to smash his mouth using Thor's hammer. But I still voted. Why? You might say, I'm a Dutertard. A dutertard is someone who voted for President Duterte despite his foul mouth and the lack of embodiment of being a statesman. He's the opposite of everything. But he gets things done. He knows the feeling of the poor people. He genuinely cares. I never seen a government official who gives who much passion to the poorest of poor in our country.

We are always highlighted on his war on drugs. Sure, many have died and maybe many are victims of extra judicial killings BUT it was in his administration that we find out how bad and and how big of an epidemic drugs is in our country. I wonder if he did not win last election, how deeper can it go?

Sometimes what the international media sees are just the surface of what he's doing. I'm living in my country. I experience how my country is being raped by drug lords. Sometimes you just got to choose which one is the lesser evil. Sorry if my opinion differs than yours.duterte.PNG

Sort:  

I appreciate your honesty. A key highlight in your post is the phrase- "But he gets things done."

I live in India, and if there is one thing that could be said by supporters of Narendra Modi, Donald Trump, Vladimir Putin and Duterte it is this- "But he gets things done."

I see this as a globally growing phenomenon- people are so sick of the old guard and politician-robbers of the past few decades that they are willing to vote into power men who give less respect for democracy, constitutional checks of power, and due process in the name of getting things done.

I have neither agreement nor disagreement to offer here, I am only thinking aloud. I fear for the future of democracy when people are increasingly okay with giving up their privacy and civil liberties just as long as the man in charge gets things done. What worries me is what will happen when the gun is trained towards me? In Philippines for example, while your crack meth epidemic was exploding and definitely needed drastic measures, is it okay for the marijuana smokers to be caught in the net as well? In India, we recently went through a process called 'demonetisation' where currency notes of Rs. 500 and Rs. 1000 were deemed invalid overnight. This was done, initially, in the name of curbing black money and corruption. Is it okay for the cash I have in my hand, earned honestly, to suddenly be deemed invalid by the State, just as long as it fixes corruption? It does not actually, but I am still thinking aloud.

Thanks for your insights :) I have nothing against the critics of our President. I just chose the lesser evil. I feel safer now. Although Philippines is not entirely safe (as all countries), but there's change. Before, most news are about someone being killed or raped or robbed. But most news now is about drug pushers and addicts being apprehended and some killed. Maybe some are EJKs. Maybe. I don't condone the EJK but of all the Presidents, he walks the talk. He did make some economic growths when it comes to statistics. But then again, he's not for everyone. And thank you for taking time to voice out your opinion regarding our President. I heard about the demonetisation. My friend was in India when that happen. She told me it was really hard to withdraw money. Hope it's a lot better now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99