Life is a struggle. While one is sitting down in luxury, “What others do to survive?”

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

Life is full of struggles. We may never know what a day may bring forth that is why people tend to do anything to survive.  

While others sit in an aircondition room or offices ( I am not condemning those in luxury...) others may do different kind of jobs to survive. 

Survival of the fittest.     

 This line don’t come merely to people who have all the powers and maintaining it in their own way..be it good or bad. The line mostly goes to the majority poor who in any way do all things to survive. There are times that people are faced to circumstances than choosing the less evil will be the best option at the moment and so it goes. I am not saying at times you can choose the less evil..The fact is it is still evil…and everything comes from an evil will harm not only ourselves but the entire humanity.   

 In order to survive others will result to theft, begging and to cut it short…to syndicate…Which in a short span of time We can see from movies and other sources that it did nothing good. In the long run it will always hurt us. It will create more problem.  

Living in a world where “racism” is the issue is never an easy thing. Good for those who were born in golden spoon..they are the master of the world. They conquer the world and rule over the world. The elite few control the economy. It was them in so many ways are the benefactor of the social wealth we have in this amazing world. We cannot even go after them and get what they are entitled to do…so the majority poor remain to be a poor.

 In this world, we are not aiming more than we need. People live a simple life… People conquer life in many ways.  

Yes…while the elite few continue to influence the job opportunity  in this world or shall I reduce it to more smaller group for a clearer view. In a community, I live in…I can see simple life more than the few luxurious one.

 While going home from an errand while ago…I saw different kind of survival ways along the street. I have taken a shot with some of them. I am planning to share it to you my followers and readers about simple things that they do. These situations are very common here in the Philippines. We are not rich country unlike the other countries are. Our people need to overwork themselves for an amount less than what they need. In return it will always sort out to borrowing money for basic needs. Imagine that is only for the basic. What about the other things they should enjoying. Like eating out sometime in any restaurant or fastfood. Or go out somethime with families in the mall…however it is more better to work hard in legal way to survive than engaging themselves to a syndicate where money is at stake. To let you know some    

 The vendors comes in many ways but the output is just the same to earn a living. For me they are interesting because of their ways in combating financial problems. Though how hard to earn money with their ways…still they are willing to do everything to meet what their family needs.  

  “Sidewalk vendor” 

This touches me most…Honestly, I don’t want my olds to do a living even at their old age. I wanted them to enjoy life when they are old…They have been supporting the family since then and giving them time to enjoy life when they are old is mu ultimate dream for my olds.  With this picture…I just took it to illustrate…they are a lot of them in the market. Whatever their family is going through…let them do it. If I am only rich I would try to help them not to earn a living for the family.    


  “The bananaque and palamig stand” 

This is located infront of the public hospital…where people comes and goes. They cook and stand there for hours trying their luck for the day. Their cart comes in a wheel for them to push it at night time. I often stop in their stall to buy some…and we became good friends. From time to time I would visit them to buy one for great kid. According to them they earn 70-150 php in a day…and that is all they got. 

“The fishball, kikiam and squid ball stand” 

Adjacent to bananaque stand I also buy some fishball nearby…or sometimes since I am not really fond of this stuff. I would just stop by and talk to them. Just a chit chat talk may help them bear the heat along the street…somehow …well I am not saying I am a big help…but sometimes showing acceptance to others will boast their morale…I should have any other way to help…but just like them I am struggling in this life too. Maybe I just do other lighter things than them but the totality is both of us are in same situation fighting poverty. 


“Naglalako” (I don’t knowthe term but we call them that way) 

They are the ones who are holding their merchandise walking…going to place to place encouraging other people to buy their products. Well, such a thing is really a hard one. I can’t describe the real hardships of what they got in doing their ways of living… A good friend of mine who used to be like them in his teen days said “it’s very hard but when it’s your luck then you will earn a lot” but he also said…everyday is not a lucky day fro them..Just like us, Like me in particular, I am not lucky everyday…when whales did not drop by my post then…I need to move on and try writing other stuff again. 


“Sideways shoe seller” 

I saw them for a year now doing same old ways of selling their shoes. Maybe its profitable since they are spending years doing that. And I saw a lot of people hunting them to buy shoes. One day I will going to talk to them… 

"Cycle Fruit Stand” 

This comes in a bicycle…I have a good friend selling same kind if stuff…(unluckily she is not there while ago for me to feature her here) instead of renting a place they used bikes or carts and push it from place to place to sell heir fruits. Most of the people, bystanders. Motorist or anybody in the street would love to buy from them..well as for the products..they have a good one. 


“Vegetable vendor” 

This is taken in the wet market…where several stuff are sold. I took this picture for me to share with you. This is quite easier than of the others because they have stall where their vegetables are displayed. 

 

 

 “The barbeque vendor" 

It’s the best stuff in the streets…I love the aroma of the barbeque…and sometimes…because of that I want to buy some pieces. One stick ranges 5-15php. For some this will be a great viand…Imagine how hard hot the place is…And staying there overnight will drain ones strength.  

  “Metro Aide” 

They clean the streets…they do that everyday…. sweeping the whole town is not an easy thing. The fact is other people don’t have discipline to just throw their waste along the streets…If you are in their shoe, you may know why you need to throw your waste properly.   


  “The shoe repair man” 

Just along the sidewalks they are there waiting for someone to let his shoe be repaired…service is good. I have tried it somehow…Instead of buying new ones we seek their service…It cost a little cheaper than buying new ones. Some folks asked them too to polish their shoes. Maybe to help them…and most of the time just like me…I just wanted to be there…if I have time talking things about them..        

"Magbobote" (wo collects junk things like bottles etc.)

They go from house to house collecting bote, bakal at tanso (bottles, rod,iron etc).Its a hard thing to do...earning cents from each pieces...yet everyday he loves doing it because of his family.

 We have our own way…we do our own stuff…if you are the bachelors next door born with a golden spoon…spend sometime with the people around who do this kind of odd jobs…yet fulfilling one. If you are the bored office girl/boy tapping the keyboard of laptops…spend out your time doing their ways…then you will appreciate your own way. If you are one of them..then be proud you have a good heart doing the right thing amidst financial crisis. 

I will as well…do my thing…and combat life even at the most lowest point…doing good…being good and humane.    


Photos are all mine

Sort:  

I'ts a jungle out there. No matter how humans evolve, we are still living the rule of "survival of th fittest". Daily is always a struggle. Thank you for opening our eyes and minds. Keep on posting.

thanks for dropping by...yes...those are the hardship of man...but they remain to be humane

I agree they are humane and do their daily chores. And these are the kind of people most vulnerable to abuse by the predators in the society. Life is such a viscious circle.
@baby07

A wheel of life. But if you are wise enough with your decision and with a heart, you may be blessed even in the simple way. May not that in the easy road but a tough one. But there is always ways to live a life to the fullest.

Remember the little people!

i do mingle with different people of different kind...

nag crave ako s streetfoods 😔

hahaha...eye opener talaga...sarap nga kumain ako fishball kanina...

Whenever I have some extra money or change, I always buy from the sidestreet seller or if I see a seller/maglalako get in the jeep I buy something from them. They work hard all day under the heat, sometimes in the rain and even late into the night. I want to help them even if it's just some loose change to lift up their spirits and perhaps fill their bellies for the day. More power and God bless to these good hardworking folks.

Nice down to earth portrayal of life in the phillipines.

Survival of the fittest it is. Ganyan talaga ang buhay.

well it is...ganito na tayo dito eh

Congratulations @baby07! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Can't really say that I live in a luxury. Many times I worked hard to get to a point of a so-called "comfort zone". Well... maybe everyone in USA has a "luxurious" living, but I heard not everyone either. So it comes through hard work mostly, not privilege.

you have the privilege there to have a good work...ours is different...we don't have enough good jobs here...even we like to work hard to have a good life...

ok, let's say we have privilege, but it didn't come from nowhere. it came from hard work of our ancestors. there are still many not privileged people here, some are more some are less. we have a lot of homeless people. unemployed people. corruption. political and cultural differences. but the goodness of what we have comes mostly from hard and smart work we continue doing. it wasn't given to us. it was earned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51