The Bountiful Province of Zamboanga del Sur - The God's Great Gift Given to Man!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

Hello there again steemit friends!

Today I’ll share to you some of my experience and adventures in my birthplace. By the way, some photos that I’m gonna be sharing were taken 3 years ago and you will notice that I’m a bit leaner in the pictures compared today.

Before we start, below is a picture of my favorite tourist spot in our province, the Alindahaw Resort Zipline in Lakewood, Zamboanga del Sur.

IMAGE SOURCE

So I was born in the province of Zamboanga del Sur. It is a province located in the Zamboanga Peninsula region, northwest of the great island Mindanao in the beautiful country Philippines. It is a place of total ethnic diversity where Subanen people (or river folks), Muslims, Christians, etc. lived in peace. Although the Philippines is known to have different official dialects for every provinces, Zamboanga del sur does not have one, but majority of the people speaks Cebuano or Visayan.

IMAGE SOURCE

Life there is very simple, especially if you are living in the mountains of Tambulig – a municipality located on the northeast part of Zamboanga del Sur. The name Tambulig is an amalgamation of “tambul” which locally means a drum and “ilig” who was a pioneering Subano hunter of the place. Legends say that Ilig mysteriously disappeared with his drum; however the sounds of his drum could still be heard in the night during full moon. He was believed to be the protector of the woods and early settlers would then say that they heard the “drum of ilig” or “tambul ni ilig” in native tongue. The phrase was then condensed to Tambulig. Below is a photo of local Subanen people.

IMAGE SOURCE

Tambulig has been known for its agricultural productivity. Most people there are reliant to farming and their primary harvest comes from their rice fields.

IMAGE SOURCE

The people of Tambulig are also hospitable and are happy people. And because of its small area, most people there are my friends. One of the places that the town is proud of: is the cold spring in the mountains of barangay Calolot. The entrance fee there is only 10 pesos or $0.20. You can also enjoy the river beside it. Below is a picture of me and my friends enjoying the cold waters of Calolot, Tambulig.

Below are other pictures of me and my friends in the mountains of Tambulig at house of my friend’s grandmother. Again this was taken 3 years ago and as far I as I can remember, we are did only visit this place to gather some coconut water for our Christmas party.



Before I end my post, below is a song called Zamboanga March or the Zamboanga del Sur hymn. It will give you an overview on how much we are proud of our province. I hope you enjoy listening to it.

Thanks for taking the time reading this post! I hope you enjoy reading my blog and you may also read Exploring the Land of Promise Mindanao and watch the video of Kyle Jennermann in his adventure in Iligan City.

I hope you follow along with my adventures! Follow me @asbonclz for more interesting posts. Thank you again and God bless everyone!

Sort:  

Liked the picture with the people on ziplines (1st one). Also .. 3rd one & 5th one. Also: the one of you drinking the #COCONUT (I have a coconut baking site, so I always appreciate those type of pictures).

Welcome to Steemit.
(i found you on the Post with the bush pilot; you were taking a moment to INVITE him to use his camera in the #Philippines)

Ohh really? I am glad that you liked them! I hope you can follow me for more interesting pictures, facts and posts about our country. Feel free to resteem them if you enjoyed them to let others see them. Once again thank you for dropping by @janashby.

Yes, I have followed u. Been interested in Philippines since H.School when I had a Filipino friend. So yeah, will continue to look in on u.

Have a pleasant sunday!

Ohh really? I'd be glad if you can visit our country someday! You too, take care and God bless!

Nice post, my friend! Ang ganda ng place nyo! ^^ Sana makapunta ako someday... As in.. Nice kaayo.. gnahan ko mutry sa zipline.. hihi^^

PS: pwede mamutong pud? haha

I hope maka pasyal ka para maka try ka sa zipline! Pwede kaayo ka mamutong diha basta ikaw saka sa lubi hahaha! Bitaw pa resteem para ma kita sa uban hehehehe salamat my friend! :)

sure... ato ni iresteem, pero ikaw saka sa lubi... deal?? hahaha ^^ btaw, you're welcome! ^^

Hahaha! Bitaw motuo kag sa dili, kuhiton ranang lubi dira friend, amazing lage kaayo kay perti ka taas sa kuhit nila diha :)

mutuo q para madali.. jk~ pero noh? amazing gd... ang lubi nga kuhiton dri ky kna mang mubo2.. hihi^^ gigutom nuon qg butong dah.. xD

Hahahaha maka gutom diay nang gutom? by the way asa inyoha diay?

mkagutom jud nang butong.. haha.. taga-Cebu q friend.. :)

Ahhh okay okay! Mas nindot diha cebu, daghan ka laagan hahaha

OMG! I wanna visit!

You are welcome here @lebron2016! What country are you from by the way?

Hi @asbonclz! Great post! Looks like a beautiful place! Thanks for sharing! :)

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :) i recommend you to visit my province :)

My mother is originally from Dipolog City so I've been to ZdN but not to ZdS. Someday, I hope :)

Ohh really? Do you understand bisaya too? Hehehe

O kamao ko mag binisaya :)

Ahhh mao mao! Aha man ka karun nagpuyo ma'am?

dia mis manila ron. pohon basin makaari ka og maka attend sa future steemit gatherings diri :)

Fresh nature
Fresh coconut
Fresh air

Yep, it's nice to live in the province for that reason.

Congratulations @asbonclz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very relaxing place, nice photos. :)

Yes indeed, thanks for dropping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50