The Philippines' "Malong" Fashion

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

It was in 2015 when I attended the South Philippine Union Conference Pink and Women's Ministries Convention in Valencia City, Bukidnon. Aside from the several amazing and informative lectures that I attended, we had this cultural night. Since I came from Iligan City, we were assigned to feature the "Malong Attire" of the Maranao Culture.

2015 spuc pm and wm convention oct 21-24 (2).jpg

What is a Malong?

A Malong is a 61-62 inches long and 70 inches wide fabric which is a traditional dress for the Maranao, Maguindanao, Samals, and many Tausug (Cojuanco, 2004). You can wrapped this Malong into your body. It's a like a dress, actually. It comes different colors and designs.

spuc pm wm 1st convention oct 2124 2015 (2).jpg

Malong as a blanket :)

Personally, I don't usually wear Malong but I use it often as a blanket when I'm attending camp meetings. It's comfortable and it's great coz' I can snuggle on it. It protects me from some cool weather and keeps me away from mosquitoes! You may also use it to wrap it on your head as a protection from the scorching heat of the sun.

SPUC WIDE PMWM CONVENTION  (1).jpg

Malong as a cultural gem

As a woman growing up in Lanao del Norte, I'm proud of this Malong attire. I appreciate the blending of cultures in my place. Even if I'm not a Muslim Maranao, I do promote solidarity among the different peoples in Mindanao. Malong reminds me of where I came from. It is a cultural heritage that must be treasured.

So, what happened on that Convention? (Going back...)

Well, on that women's convention, the Lanao del Norte / Iligan City group were privileged to showcase the Malong Attire through a simple fashion "ramp". It was beautiful to behold women wearing the Malong in different styles.

spuc pm wm 1st convention oct 2124 2015 (3).jpg

If you want to purchase Malong, just go to Iligan City and buy it for an affordable price. Some Malongs are just less than 500 pesos. :)

Mabuhay!

Thanks @vanny for encouraging me to steem!

@steemph :) #pinoytayo
http://www.philstar.com/sunday-life/257152/how-use-malong-let-me-count-ways (by T. Cojuangco)

Sort:  

Thank you @guruvaj for the upvote.

Your post is the second top pick for the latest edition of Top 20 Commented Posts using the #philippines tag

Your post has been upvoted at 98% = $0.18 and you will be featured on the next edition. Congrats

Wow! Thank you so much @vallesleoruther. Mabuhay! :D Followed you already.

Thank you for the follow, keep on posting quality content :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47