You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five Project Ideas. Which One Rises to the Top?

in #philanthropy6 years ago

One of the biggest things I took away from our last class meeting was the need for funders to consider the existing needs in nonprofits and to simply put forth the money to support whatever that intent might be in a specific organization. With that in mind, of the five listed here I support contributing to the Philadelphia Black History Collaborative or the Fund for School District of Philadelphia.

Both of these organizations have a clear mission and project already in motion which our funds could help support. I especially think that funding these organizations would hold a significant community impact. The Black History Collaborative could continue supporting Black History education in schools, and the Fund for the School District of Philadelphia acts to develop additional programs in schools.

If the idea is to cede authority of this money over to the nonprofits in question, rather than proposing new (and admittedly brilliant) projects, then these are the two of these five organizations I would support.

Sort:  

Yeah @dduquette, I also think the History Collaborative is my favorite pitch here. Both @engledd and I have talked about the lack of connection between Philadelphia's public schools and its museums. @engledd suggested walking tour materials and I suggested allocating money for buses. In any case, I think the Collaborative is an organization well positioned to make a huge difference in students' lives and make the Philadelphia museum culture more vital at the same time!

I think you bring up some really good points Derek. If we can attract the attention and collaborate with large and stable organizations it is more likely that our contribution will have a lasting impact.

Clear mission statements are vital to the success of non-profits and we have seen how lack of direction can negatively impact the growth of the cultural sector. That is why I through my backing behind Fund for the School District of Philadelphia.

I think we will do best to cede authority of this money rather than propose new projects, mostly because there is so much potential in education. With programs like the Black History Collaborative and the Fund, we plant a strong seed that can be watered by successful organizations and grow into much larger cultural achievements.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54