Exploring Philadelphia

in #philadelphia6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7677.JPG

Hey everyone. I have been exploring Philadelphia, the City of Brotherly Love. There is so much to explore and see in Philadelphia. Below is the list of few that I have covered. I am sure there are more interesting places to visit and more interesting things to do in Philadelphia. Let me know your suggestions if you have any.

1. Museum of Art


You can spend an entire day exploring various artifacts in the museum. I spend around 6 hours and it was great. Some of the paintings feels so real. Check out few paintings!!

IMG_7548.JPG

IMG_7551.JPG

You can also see the famous Rocky Statue and the Oval. The architecture of the Museum is awesome. Definitely worth a visit. The entry fee is $25 for two days and it is well worth it.

If you have a Bank of America credit / debit card you can visit the museum on the first full weekend of the month for free. Hopefully this tip helps you

If you are visiting Museum of Art, you may as well visit the below two museums as well. All three are near to each other.
a. Franklin Institute Science Museum
b. Rodin Museum

I usually walk from 30th Street Station to the Museum of Art. Walk on the Schuylkill River Trail. It is absolutely beautiful during fall season.

2. Independence Hall


During my visit to the Independence Hall i learned a lot about the important role that the City of Philadelphia played in America's history. It was a great learning experience. Have you heard about "Underground Railroad?" When I first saw it on the wall, my first thought was that it was, well, an underground rail road. Man, I have never been so wrong.

Here is what the history channel website has to say:

The Underground Railroad was a network of people, African American as well as white, offering shelter and aid to escaped slaves from the South. It developed as a convergence of several different clandestine efforts. The exact dates of its existence are not known, but it operated from the late 18th century to the Civil War, at which point its efforts continued to undermine the Confederacy in a less-secretive fashion.

So plan a visit and you can learn a lot about Philadelphia. Free entry.

3. Liberty Bell Center


This iconic structure does not need any introduction at all. Free entry.

4. Reading Terminal Market


I made the mistake of visiting the market on a weekend. It was so crowded. I couldn't even walk without bumping into other people. It is a must visit.

The Market offers an incredible selection of locally grown & exotic produce, locally sourced meats and poultry, finest seafood, cheeses, baked goods, and confections. You will also find a wide variety of restaurants. All under one roof. If possible visit during a week day.

5. China Town


Not the biggest in USA. I have been to SF and NY china towns that are considerably bigger than what we have in Philadelphia. Nevertheless you will find authentic Chinese restaurants and shops. It is pretty close to Reading Terminal Market.

6. NMAJH (National Museum of American Jewish History)


Like Independence hall, the museum gives you a flashback of life of early Jews who immigrated to the shores of US, the struggles of the early Jewish settlers and how their life evolved over the years. I loved my visit to the Jewish Museum.
Entry fee is $15.

7. Penns Landing


It is a waterfront area along the Delaware River. You get a great view of the Benjamin Franklin Bridge from penns landing. Spruce Street Harbor Park is one of the main attractions at Penn's Landing. The park has a boardwalk along the Delaware River. I loved my time at Penns Landing.

There is lot more to see and explore in Philadelphia. If you know of a great place to explore please let me know and I will be very thankful.

Check out few of the pictures that I have taken. Thanks for reading and let me know your suggestions.

IMG_8039.JPG

IMG_7673.JPG

P1000293.jpg

Sort:  

You hit alot of great spots! Love the pictures too! South street is also a famous draw for people in the surrounding area! Check it out sometime!
Go Eagles!!

Thank you for the suggestion. I will check that out. I know there is a Japanese Garden. I think it is closed during winter. I am looking forward to visiting the garden sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50