My top 3 comedy movies

in #phctop35 years ago

Three examples of my favourite comedies from across the ages. All British of course, basically because we do the best comedy!

This is my entry to the @phctop3 competition run by @steemitbloggers, thanks to them for putting up the competition.

No 1: Life of Brian

'So, how should we 'fuck off'?
Screenshot 20190407 at 09.29.47.png

Just a superb take on the rather silly nature of mass religion and the 'herd mentality'. I could have also chosen The Holy Grail in my top three, but i thought one Python was enough!

No 2: The Full Monty

'It's the Arsenal Offside Trap'

Screenshot 20190407 at 09.31.08.png

Maybe it's 'cos I'm working class and spent two years on the doll that I like this so much. It's also a great exploration of the Crisis of Masculinity, and a great sound-track!

No 3: Bad News (The Comic Strip)

"..And can we have 100 pints of lager please'.

Screenshot 20190407 at 09.42.19.png

Purists might prefer Spinal Tap, but I caught this Channel Four comic strip movie before that when I was a teenager into metal. And it's got a couple of actors from The Young Ones in there too!

I look forward to the polls!

Pic Sources

Brian https://imgur.com/r/wallpaper+wallpapers/3QmnYE3

Monty https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2805158/End-Monty-dole-queue-Ministers-install-23-000-electronic-pads-jobcentres-make-easier-sign-on.html

News https://www.channel4.com/programmes/collections/comic-book-presents-box-set/5567-001

Sort:  

Hey @self-track

We see that your awesome PHC Top 3 post has reached 7 days old. Please remember to confirm your entry into the contest by sending half of your payout (SBD) to the @phctop3 account. Also, don't forget to send us your post URL in the memo.

Thanks for entering and good luck.

The PHC Top 3 Team

Hi - I am in but can't send the transfer until tomo as I'm away and don't have my active key with me!

Posted using Partiko Android

No problem. We'll count you in. Just send it when you get back.

Thanks for the reply.

That's great cheerz!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @revisesociology

Love the votes in the poll. Great choices.

Thanks for sending over the steem. The amount doesn't look quite right for your post. If you send over the SBD that the post initially paid out, that will sort it. I can then send you back the steem you have already sent.

Cheers, Gaz.

Hey @revisesociology

Payment received with thanks. You should have received the Steem refund too. The entry fee should have been around 0.20 sbd but it's more than fine to add extra, if that's what you wanted.

Good luck with the contest. 😁

Yes its fine!

Posted using Partiko Android

We have launched the dpoll and here is the link: dpoll

Don’t forget to vote and tell your friends too. Best of luck.

The PHC Top 3 Team

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Three choices that are right up my street @self-track

Full Monte was a big success when it came out. A brilliant cast and a funny, feel good story.
Bad News! OMG I remember my dad watching this and I caught a bit of it as well. Don't they play a real gig at the Monsters of Rock festival and get pelted with beer cans? From what I remember it was really funny.
Life of Brian is one of my all time favourite movies. An absolute no-brainer choice in this category for me. Your head pic cracked me up. That's such a brilliant scene. 'How shall we F#*k off, o lord?' 😂

Great stuff, thanks for entering and best of luck.

Gaz

Cheers!

They did actually play a real gig yes! Didn't go down well. Life of Brian is full of great one liners! @self-track's my alt-account btw!

Cool. No worries.

They are vague memories but enough to remember that! 😁

Hey @revisesociology

We are going to launch the PHC Top 3 dpoll tomorrow. Just waiting on your entry fee and we will crack on.

Thanks

The PHC Top 3 Team

Yeah, Life of Brian is the best! :)

Hangover movies are also OK for me.... and maybe Deadpool movie.. :)

Well send in your choices! Bring in a post with your top 3 and see them get put in a dpoll, can't go wrong when you got awesome chances at winning some SBD ;) And if you don't have much time, there even post templates created to help out. Hit the #phctop3, the contest is ending soon :)

So great to see you jump in the ring! A few other people have also had The Life of Brian on their lists, so I really need to finally sit down to watch it! I know, I'm well behind the times on that one. Thanks for sharing your choices and good luck in the dpoll! :)

Life of Brian seems to be a great choice amongst the people. This must mean that I have to watch it. Comedy about religious people, I've only see stand ups do that successfully, but a movie?! Ok ok, don't twist my arm ;)

I haven't seen the other two but Full Monty kind of rings the bell so perhaps I did and forgot. By the sounds of what you are writing, these are worth watching!

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Remember to transfer 50% of the post payout as SBD to @phctop3 with a link to your entry in the memo, otherwise it won't be eligible.

text16.png

Exciting to see that you have entered the Top 3 contest. Your choices are pretty sweet!

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

I haven't seen any of these @self-track hopefully I can catch one this weekend. Good luck. 🤞

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81