My Nominations for the PHC Top 3 Monthly Contest - Board Games

in #phctop35 years ago

This is my entry into this month’s PHC Top 3 contest.

This months topic is: Board Games

My Nominations are:

Nomination #1

Monopoly

CCD98344-FDDF-4A88-BB4F-357DFC4B566A.jpeg

My Reasons:

(I mean, c’mon It’s friggen Monopoly!)

This one isn’t really my favorite to play but it’s connected to a favorite memory. My grandmother was a old school, hardened, farm-working, “kids should-be doing chores not playing & in bed by 8p.m.” type of woman. One summer when I was about 13, my younger cousin & I stayed with her & grandpa for about a week. After helping grandpa cut down trees/clear land & my grandma with the garden we usually ate, showered, & went to bed. One of the last nights I was there around bed time my grandma asked my cousin & I If we wanted to play monopoly. The game lasted well into the early morning hours & we had a blast. I got to see a happy, care-free, joyful side of my grandma I never knew existed. It’s one of my favorite memories of her & I think of it every time I play the game.

Nomination #2

Trivial Pursuit

147ABE6D-D933-4FCC-90DF-40A6CF4BE82F.png

My Reasons

This is one of my all time favorites to play. Besides the fact I love trivia, when I was in high school, my teacher let us play this game every Friday. I was a much needed way to blow of a little Steem at the end of a week.

Nomination #3

Battleship

95129BAA-2CFC-4B29-9A34-3C883E7EAA11.jpeg

My Reasons

Besides just being fun, this is tied to another fond memory. With the exception of my wife, my brother is my closest & best friend. We didn’t grow up in the greatest environment and had to overcome a lot, together. All this brought us closer. We had a travel version of ‘Battleship’ that we found at a yard sale. It was always something we could do together to escape. We’re both grown with kids but occasionally we still find time to play.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3:

5SP10SP25SP
50SP100SP150SP
200SP250SP300SP
400SP500SP1000SP

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Yes! I love your story about your Grandma and Monopoly!

Trivial Pursuit I was just awful at, my knowledge in general playing it was dreadful but I was intrigued by it as a kid.

Battleships, good call there as well! Another one I sucked at, I could swear every opponent I played didn't put their ships down as I was hitting water ALL the time haha!

Thanks for entering the contest and good luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

All great choices @erixink. I like them all. Your story about your grandma is to me why we play board games. Those are some of the best memories.

Thanks so much for joining us this month! You definitely chose some great games. I remember playing all of those when I was young, but also into adulthood. Especially Trivial Pursuit. That one definitely helps to have a greater knowledge base, haha! So great to hear some of the personal anecdotes, as well. That's definitely been one of our hopes with doing this contest--triggering fond memories for us to share with each other!

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Remember to transfer 50% of the post payout as SBD to @phctop3 with a link to your entry in the memo, otherwise it won't be eligible. This is the minimum entry fee, there is no maximum. You can add as much as you like to your initial fee to give you bigger potential rewards.

text16.png

Great choices @erixink and welcome to the contest.

All three are classic games. I have enjoyed; and been frustrated by, them all! lol. Great memories of yours that are attached to these games too. The panel love reading these entries.

Great job and good luck.

G

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Oh yes! I’m sure grandma was a stickler for following the Monopoly rules to the tee! Who won that memorable night?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Grandma finally won in the end but it was one of those monopoly games that wouldn’t die.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey @cindyhartz

If you like the look of our contest then why not enter as well! You have a few hours until the deadline and there are steem prizes to be won. Here is the main post

We even supply a post template to make it easier to enter. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

We hope to see your entry.

The PHCTop3 Panel

Yes! Very well done! Top notch even! I’m tied up with a freelance project “write” now, but hope I can join in next month! 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love your choices @erixink

Me and my wife used to play lots of Monopoly. I say used to because she thrashed me every time. She's a business and economics teacher! Not fair. I 'USED' to love it! 🤪

Good luck.

Gaz

Awesome that board games brings the people together. It is a great way to connect, share great times and create awesome memories just like yours, that we hold dearly in our hearts. Thank you for sharing with us such special moments :)

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

These are wonderful games. I love all of those too. I was completely addicted to Battleship as a child! Monopoly is such a classic. Absolutely the best family game there ever was. I would love Trivial Pursuit except that I'm terrible at it. Ha ha.

Awesome! Thanks for sending over your entry fee, just letting you know that I've added you in with your nominations now!

Good luck and keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming dpoll between 16th - 18th where we put it to the public vote and let the Steem community decide their top 3 :)

text16.png

G

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66544.05
ETH 3487.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72