The Indoor/Outdoor Debate: SOLVED! A follow up to raising pets in a tiny space...

in #pets5 years ago

Yesterday I wrote an article about whether I should keep the pets exclusively indoors, or let them to roam free outdoors. My wife wants them out, and I'd rather suffer them in... well, after sleeping on it, I may have found a solution...

Copy of indoor vs outdoor.png
src

If you recall, a major sticking point for keeping the pets indoors was hair and smell.. we are also worried about the animals possibly peeing on or scratching the furniture because well, that's a pain, and a tough habit to break once they start.

My wife's solution was to let them have their run of the great outdoors, it's quiet and friendly. I, however, wasn't so sure that it was the best idea.. being dangerous and attracting unwanted pests was among my concerns.

My wife wasn't too happy last night when she saw that I was letting them back indoors for the night, having had an incident with cushion that smelled like pee.. 😫

this dilemma must have been swirling around in my head last night, because I woke up with an idea...

hardware.jpg

A quick trip to the hardware store and stationary shop and I had all the supplies I needed..

The idea was to give the animals an outdoor place to play, while keeping them away from the dangers of being outdoors.. basically, and outdoor play pen.

After snipping, cutting, fixing and twisting.. I had created a cage of sorts to keep our pets in and other unwanted pets out..

gate 1.jpggate 2.jpg

The only hitch was figuring out how to be able to open and close the gate, so we can get in and out, but the animals can.. To that extent, I made a kind of hinged door that could be hooked closed from the inside and again from the outside to keep it sealed..

After trying it out.. I am delighted to say.. it works!.. At least for now.. I'm sure that the escape artist cats will eventually figure out a way to make a prison break, but for now, they have tested the possible holes and haven't had any success.

hooks.jpg

durian stuck.jpg

I'm hoping, like elephants chained to a pole, they will give up and never try again... but that's probably wishful thinking.

Im just happy that we found a happy medium and that it doesn't look too bad from the outside.. even the neighbors saw what I was doing and borrow some supplies to make their own version..

gate outside.jpg

That'll do..

My next project is finding a way to stop up a broken window sill that leaks into the kitchen every time it rains.. and since the rainy season is upon us in Thailand.. that's almost everyday!

window.jpg

Any suggestions??!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59514.13
ETH 2652.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42