My Grandpuppy

in #pets7 years ago (edited)

20170507_224157 edited_1.jpg

Five and a half years ago, my youngest daughter acquired a mini-dachshund through Craigslist. She is the third person to own him, so she has never known exactly how old he is. At the time, a vet estimated his age to be about two years old. More recently, the dog developed back problems and is now thought to be about ten rather than seven.

My daughter was not living at home when she got little Louie, but she moved back home shortly thereafter. We had not had a dog for many years, and never a small one. I didn't think I would like a small dog, but he wormed his way quickly into my heart. Those big brown eyes melted away any reservations I had.

Louie and I spent a great deal of time together while my daughter was at work. I took him for walks, cuddled with him, and let him sleep with me when she was out with friends (or working) 'til the wee hours. I discovered he loved to run along on his leash when I rode my bicycle. He would tear out ahead of me and nearly pull the bicycle up the hill. Bear in mind I live on a gravel road and I am old and cautious, so I never rode very fast.

I also took him with me to the local assisted living facility where I volunteer weekly by playing oldies on the piano. I am no concert pianist, but I enjoy playing the old songs and the residents seem to enjoy listening. Now and then someone sings along, and that really makes my day. But Louie would always steal the show when he came long. He would sit on my lap at the piano, sometimes getting in my way and sometimes just lying quietly. He was initially upset by wheelchairs, but soon became accustomed to them. He soon knew who belonged there, and who was just a visitor or extra caregiver. Strangers were barked at ferociously! He also used to bark at one resident who always wore a baseball cap. In fact, he barked at anyone who wore one of those. We assume he had a bad experience sometime in his past involving someone who wore one. It doesn't seem to upset him nearly as much now as it did at first.

One of the staff members owned a young miniature pig a few years ago. She would sometimes bring it to the assisted living home and let it run around. Louie wasn't sure what to do with that pig when they eventually met! They finally settled on playing chase around the furniture in the living area.

After a year of life with Louie, he moved with my daughter to another part of the country. How I missed that little dog! And the residents of the assisted living facility often inquired after him. Finally, over a year later, they moved back to this area. At last! His "fan club" was thrilled to have him come visit again, and I was delighted to have my grandpuppy close enough to come and stay me from time to time.

Now that his back is bothering him, Louie isn't as active as he used to be. He is supposed to avoid stairs and jumping on furniture. He isn't interested in bike rides or long walks. But he still enjoys barking at my cats, shredding stray tissues, and policing the floors for anything deemed edible by him. He continues to bark at anything he thinks need to be barked at, generally disturbing the peace of the household. Right now he is burrowed in a fleece blanket on my bed. Fuzzy blankets are his favorite!

It's too bad pets only live a few years. I catch myself wondering how my daughter and I will get through it when Louie eventually goes to the happy hunting ground. Meanwhile, I plan to enjoy his company every chance I get.

20170909_181739_2_1.jpg

Photos taken on my cell phone.

Sort:  

All of us enjoyed the couple of visits we had with your grand-canine when JT brought him over for game night. He is such a character for sure, and I love that he is part of your piano playing performances!!

Congratulations @scribblingramma! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54