Sort:  

I agree. I'm greatly saddened by the inbreeding and suffering many dogs endure in order to conform to "desirable breed standards." I sure love me my pugs, but I also have two rescue muts. They are always the healthiest. I wish people would spay and neuter their pets. Animal shelters are bursting at the seams with beautiful animals who deserve good homes. It breaks my heart every day.

I got my little hero out of a shelter, too. He has his problems, anxiety most of all, but I love him nevertheless.
But being a little critical here, by buying a pug and "advertising" them here, aren't you supporting them being bred that way? Whenever a dog is an "in"-accessoire, more and more people get one, consequently inbreeding will harm the breed even more and people not knowing what this special breed needs, sometimes even medical assistance, which is expensive. And this will, at the end of the day, fill the shelters even more.
For example, there was an ad "starring" a West Highland White Terrier. Because of that, many people got one, thinking they are cute. But they are hunting dogs and need a lot of walks and attention and training. Not quite what you want for your family. So they ended up in a shelter, if they were lucky. Gladly, in my home country we don't kill dogs in shelters when no one adopts them...

I will say it now. If you are looking for a pug, PLEASE look for them in pug rescues and/or shelters. I am not advertising - it's the kind of dog I have. Someone else might prefer Yorkies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83