How a cute rabit took myhalf weekend

in #pets6 years ago

1000641.jpg
This is my daughter's pet rabbit. She looks cute, but don't let looks deceive you. A few years back I built her a little coup for her hutch. She was happy with the space she had until this winter when she started burrowing. At first, I didn't worry, as the nettings went down about 20 cm into the ground. Boy, was I wrong. Last week the neighbor ringed our door. She had found Fien, my daughter's rabbit in her garden.

The little rabbit had burrowed quite deep and then had made herself an exit.
IMG_20180611_103255266.jpg

So now, after using about 60 kg of sand to fill the holes that Fien managed to dig, I decided to do what I should probably have done, to begin with. I got some small hole squared netting for the whole bottom of the coup.

IMG_20180610_210046128.jpg

Then, to make sure Fien wouldn't be able to get at the edges of the netting, I lined the bottom of the coup with a roll of half-stick wood. This is the result. I trust the solution I used will do the trick, but boy, it was a lot of work. I surely won't be looking at my doughter's bet rabbit as cute any time soon ;-)

Sort:  

If I had a yard and if I was willing to become ground bound (peasant) then I would still not have any of these.
I prefer chicken and geese over these.
Do you have hedgehogs roaming the streets at night?
Hedgehogs should be preferred too over these, but I doubt that they can be grown and bred in captivity.
They eat insects instead of homegrown edible vegetation, which makes them beneficial instead of pests.
I think that they dig too.

Hey @stimialiti, Congratulations! Bodzila just upvoted your post with 40.00% power. Keep up the good work!

Delegate your Steem Power to @Bodzila & Earn 80% Weekly returns based on your share. You can cancel delegation of your SP at anytime as the money & power remain in your hands only.

Any queries or required support can be discussed in person. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

You got a 100.00% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 50.00% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

You got a 61.54% upvote from @proffit courtesy of @stimialiti!
2-25% Return on investment. Check steembottracker.com for current status
Minimum 0.01 SBD/STEEM to get upvote , Minimum 1 SBD/STEEM to get upvote + resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57