The Patsy Pond Trail: AKA doggy heaven

in #pets6 years ago

I live only 5 miles from doggy heaven. Velvet and I usually go there everyday that I am not working a 12 hour shift .
The trail is maintained by the local office of the North Carolina Coastal Federation, a non-profit dedicated to preserving the North Carolina Coastline and its natural lands.


There are 100s of acres of land with several ponds and marked foot trails weaving between.


Thankfully, there is a local understanding for no leash law on the patsy pond trail, which means Velvet and I can run together freely and she can go swim. During hunting seasons she wears blaze orange because she resembles a dear so much.


The ponds were formed as sinkholes over top of limestone geology, which is quite interesting. As it turns out sinkholes are formed when rain falls through the atmosphere and combines with carbon dioxide forming carbonic acid, which soaks through the soil. This carbonic acid can cause the limestone geology to dissolve and sink in places. As the limestone dissolves, holes are created underground that may later collapse, forming a sinkhole.


velvet is too scared to swim in this one


I'm so grateful to have a place so close-by where we can be out in the natural world and enjoy our time.

Sort:  

I love dogs, and I know that the love you have for your friend Velvet, does not compare to anything

that is certainly true. the love we have for our pets in singular.

Why the dog is alone there? It looks like he's the only dog around.

That's another thing that is great about the Patsy. Its a well kept secret. But those that know about it go very regularly.

love for your dog very cool

Your dog is very beautiful and the place is great. The masotas are a great company and as the expression says "the dog is the best friend of man". I liked your post :)

I live only 5 miles from doggy heaven. Velvet and I usually go there everyday that I am not working a 12 hour shift . The trail is maintained by the local office of the North Carolina Coastal Federation, a non-profit dedicated to preserving the North Carolina Coastline and its natural lands.

The struggle is full of sacrifices, the success of friends, the nature is very beautiful, let's preserve nature

Curious the name of your pet "velvet" that beautiful natural spaces

Great photos. Get Upvote for you :)

lovely dog you have,,,

Great Photos :) I've been following you for a little bit now and I can tell how much you love the nature. I’m trying to get some people to help me spread the word about a new steem powered environmental project I’m trying to get off the ground. You can check it out here. https://steemit.com/steemit/@ahren707/steemit-new-tag-environmental-project-erasethetrace!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54605.61
ETH 2303.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31