My Best Friend for 8 Years was a Dog

in #pets6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-03-27 at 9.52.25 PM.png
Woke up the morning of my 10th birthday to something licking my nose. First off, weird! Second of all, aren’t 10-year-old girls supposed to get like Barbie’s and other girl toys? Well…. little did I know when I woke up that morning I was just gifted the biggest responsibility ever for a 10-year-old…I was a dog mom at 10 years old!! Sound like a disaster? Yes. Was it? Duh. All worth it? Absolutely.

My favorite story to tell about my short-haired dachshund “wiener dog” with the “ohh so clever” name of Nike (yes, like the shoe…I was 10, give me a break) was when my parents were gone at work when the dog just peed on the carpet for the first time. First thoughts, “Crap, my mom is going to kill me, I am supposed to be letting it out to go to the bathroom.” Well as a new dog owner and only being 10, I quickly learned that puppy “accidents” were pretty normal. At the time, major freak out! I had to clean it up, but with what? My body just automatically went right under the kitchen sink to all the cleaning supplies and grabbed the first thing I saw! Cleaned it up and it went great, no stains(Good thing, my parents just got new carpet). An hour later my mom comes home from work as we are downstairs playing fetch and screams my name….. Well, just my luck, the first thing I saw in the cleaning cabinet was BLEACH….Yes, I know what you are thinking! Our dark new carpet now had a huge yellow/white stain right in the middle of the living room. Well, since that day, I have never touched bleach again. But on a serious note, who gets new carpet before getting a dog? I mean come on mom and dad, I was 10, it’s bound to happen with either the dog or me and my spaghetti.

Moral of the story, this dog that I got on my 10th birthday soon turned into my best friend. We did absolutely everything together until November 4th, 2015. That morning was full of tears.. ...A big part of my life left me that day to be in doggy heaven! Nike was the best present I could of ever asked for and one of life's greatest gifts! It had been 8 wonderful years of cuddling, playing fetch and having a dog as an alarm clock, thunder buddy, and best friend! They say that some things are worth getting your heart broken for and Nike was definitely worth it!

I have had the privilege to love and spend the 8 years with the greatest dog that's ever lived! Although, my best friend is no longer with me, he will forever be my best friend.
3/22/07-11/4/15 Screen Shot 2018-03-27 at 9.52.34 PM.png

This post was created because I just recently came around to purchasing a new dog about 2.5 years later. Although, I have enormous amounts of love for my dog already on day 2. No dog will live up to the dog I grew up with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66917.83
ETH 3499.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89