Sasha’s Shelter in Serbia - amazing story of sacrifice for others

in #pets4 years ago

When I look around our shelter here in Krabi and think about all the things we have done for the stray animal population here I am normally in a state of feeling as though we have done great things and will continue to do so. We wish we could do more and would do more if we had more resources.

I look at various operations around the world that are much larger than ours are with a bit of envy but also in appreciation for the wonderful things that they have done. Some of these people came from money or had a massive grant to do what they did, others made massive sacrifices to their own income in order to provide a chance at life to creatures far less fortunate than they are.

I do not know the specifics behind Sasha’s Shelter in Serbia, but it is a wonderful story nonetheless


src

Sasha Pesic has saved over 1100 dogs in and around the city of Nis, Serbia. Most of the dogs were on death’s door, with horrible skin conditions and infections and struggled to get even a little bit of food (sound familiar?)

Sasha and his team nursed the animals back to health and has found forever homes for 400 of the dogs, mostly locally but also all around the world. Recently, he has been featured on several social media sites that tend to have a lot of viewers and this hopefully will help him with the rest of them.


src

The rest of Sasha’s pack live on his land in improvised shelters that Sasha has built. He claims to know every single dog by name which I’m not sure if I believe that but if he can remember 750 names that is a truly impressive feat. Almost as impressive as his incredible compassion towards these creatures that have been left behind by society.

If this doesn’t bring tears to your eyes than fear you have no soul. Sasha is someone who has completely sacrificed his life in order to help the animals that no one else will look after and spends all day, every day, looking after his 750 “children.”

Personally, I don’t devote my entire life to Krabi Animal Welfare, I wish I could to be honest but I have a human family that I have to support as well so I have a full-time job. I would gladly give that up to look after dogs full-time and hopefully one day will be able to do so. Stories like Sasha’s inspire me but also frustrate me a bit because our “industry” is completely dependent upon donations in order to continue and that is a dangerous game because you never know when the funding is going to dry up. This is why myself and everyone else that works at K.A.W. has another full-time job and our time here is volunteer work. It might appear as though I am fishing for compliments but that isn’t the case, it is simply a fact: I LOVE helping animals and gladly do it for free.

103191514_2981293531957221_7355522564911595943_n.jpg
src

Sasha’s Shelter is on a level that we hope to be capable of achieving at some point. I would like nothing better than to be able to help ALL of the stray dogs of our community and would gladly live a life of no luxury if we were able to make that happen. There are some things that money can not buy: and the joy that you see on the face of a dog or cat that has never known love is one of those things.

Sasha, once I win the lottery and am able to finance my own operation like yours, we’ll send you the rest of it :) You are a true animal guardian angel and we aspire to be like you.

You can find Sasha's website and contribute to his cause HERE at https://www.sashashelter.com/

Sort:  

how incredible is that!

yeah, i thought it was pretty great too. I'd like to shake this guy's hand and buy him a drink someday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66