Gone But Never Forgotten (The Life of Colby)

in #pets8 years ago (edited)

In memory of my recent passing dog, Colby, my girlfriend of 3 years painted me this wonderful portrait as a gift to hold on to forever.

Colby

Colby was not only a dog, but the kindest, friendliest, soul you could ever meet. He loved people, never barked, and always seemed to be having fun. The world was his oyster and he was constantly looking for a friend to play with. Above all, he was my best friend for over 10 years, who helped guide me through some of my toughest times. When no one else was around, he was my backbone who I could talk to and go on long walks with. He was always there to remind me that things will get better and that life is meant to be enjoyed. To be present. To stay strong. I can't help but imagine what words of encouragement he would say to me if he could've spoke, yet it was all right there. All in his presence.

The point of this post is to reflect on all the memories we shared and remember him as he truly was, before he got sick. Here are some of the photos that I have left to share with you.

Colby2

Handsome fella.

Colby3

Just a few days after we got him.

Colby4

He was truly a blessing in my life and I am glad that I had the honor of being a part of his. Until we meet again buddy <3

To all my fellow pet owners, if you wish to share any memories of your own pets, feel free to leave pictures in the comment section!

Sort:  

My sincere condolences. It's really hard to lose a four-legged friend.

I once lost a dog who fell into terminal illness while I was minding him when my parents were on vacation. Near the end, the poor fellow could barely move and literally would not eat. I still remember putting a piece of cooked chicken right into his mouth only to see it drop out. At that point, all he could do was drink water and look at me when I checked up on him...

That was more than three years ago, shortly before he breathed his last on an emergency-vet's table. (Yes, he was put down.)

It's been more than three years since that day and the memories are still locked in my head...

Thankfully, you've locked away the good memories of Colby!

Thanks for sharing! Yea its never easy letting go, but nonetheless, for the better. These little guys are the best, you get the full package without all the bullshit baggage/craziness that humans carry around.

Thanks yourself. Sometimes it's best to open up about these things.

Congratulations @joshm894! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @joshm894! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84