Dealing with the Death of a Pet and Best Bud.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #pets7 years ago (edited)

The Last 24 Hours Have Been Super Difficult for @AnaHilarski and I.

At this time yesterday I saw our cat lying in the middle of our street. I ran outside to find that he had already passed away. I picked him up and brought him home as chaos ensued. I will leave out the gruesome details. I let Susy (our female cat) inspect his body before I took him out to the jungle.

This cat was like no other I ever had. He was more dog like than a cat. He would follow me everywhere. He would lay across my feet as I worked or watched tv. He loved everybody, made friends with dogs and would often enter neighbors homes looking to make more friends. He was so fat that everyone thought he was pregnant.

Patricio was a stray that was adopted by a lady who takes in strays. We adopted him and Susy from her and they have been living with us for a little over three years. He was over a year old before being neutered and taken in. So he still had his independent side. No matter what we did we could not dampen his desire to wander the neighborhood. So every morning we would let him out for a few hours. He lived life on his terms and I was happy that we gave him a great life.

So We Move On.

This morning was pretty tough as he was not here. The morning routine has been disrupted. Susy wandered around the house this morning meowing, which she never does. It was pretty sad to see but she will adjust as well.

So I leave you with the reminder to try to love as much as you can because you never know when something precious will be snuffed out.

Sort:  

I am sorry for your loss man. Losing a pet can hurt so much. I'll give my dog an extra hug tonight.

My sympathies to you and your whole crew. It's hard to lose a family member and especially so the ones with the big personalities. My heart hurts with you.

If you'd like, I'll include him in the March Keepsakes album. I can use the photos here or you can send your choices to [email protected].

Feel free, let me know if you need any help.

Will do and thank you for the permission.

Very sorry for your loss... these creatures adopt us as well we us adopting them... and become such an integral part of our families. Peace and love to you and yours.

So sorry for your loss. I have 2 cats and they are definitely "family" members with distinct personalities and places in our home and hearts.

Very sorry to hear about Patricio's passing.

I am very sorry for your loss. I have had several cats and I am always happy, when I think of them. Memories are a wonderful thing.

They sure can get into our hearts. Our Joogsie is fading, as I wrote about recently. But at least we're getting to baby her along the way.
Thanks for sharing.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Aw man, I'm so sorry to hear that! We always assume that losing an animal isn't that big of a deal, but it is...and it hurts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39