Jasper, the Crippled Kitty

in #pets5 years ago (edited)

jaspersleeping2.jpg
Jasper was "rescued" from a situation in which he was in a barn. When he was adopted, he was found curled up sleeping with pigs. Yes, pigs. Here is a pic of one of them from the farm we adopted him from.
pig.jpg

In his infancy, he must have adopted some "pigly" traits, as he is very much unlike your typical feline in some ways. He is an omnivore, and can be found eating absolutely anything, burgers, pizza, hot dogs, grasshoppers, and birds. He also displays other unusual traits, such as sleeping under blankets, sleeping on top of your head at night, and responding to calls/commands, such as "Come here!" and "Get outta here!" when he is being playful/annoying. He is an indoor/outdoor cat (by choice) as he loves interacting with nature, and I feel it is a disservice to keep animals confined inside (my opinion).

jaspersleeping.jpg

His curious nature ultimately has led to his demise as he was recently run over by a car. Thankfully, he is alive, but in the incident (neighbor pulling out of driveway in morning) his femur was snapped in half and tail was broken . I took him to an emergency vet who suggested that if I could not afford the $1000+ in treatment (which I could not), that I should consider putting him down, as it was unlikely that he would heal on his own. Whether or not this vet was honest, I do not know, but I do not that I could not stomach the thought of letting Jasper die, and would do whatever it took to save his life.
IMG_20190820_221710334.jpg

This has led to an exorbitant amount of veterinary bills, that quite frankly, I cannot really afford at the moment. In fact, I had to take a loan to pay for poor Jasper's injuries. These installments were not in the budget, and in addition to caring for three teenagers, times are tough, especially since **we just relocated and starting over in a new city ** .
jasper3.jpg
jaspersleeping2.jpg

He is now in good condition, and the doctors say that he should heal fairly quickly, though he seems to be in a great amount of pain/discomfort. He very much wants to go outside, and constantly cries, but until his leg gets better he is confined indoors. He doesn't much like his current situation at all, although he is receiving the best of care.

This leads me to humbly asking anyone who has read this far and wants to send love to Jasper from afar to please consider upvoting and resteeming this post. In addition I will list some crypto wallets for you to consider offering small donations to help, if you'd like!

Thanks for reading and spreading the love!

https://cash.app/$voxpiratica

btc: 1AzV6jHKwmjiAFJsniMet3gcBiV74qHB4r
eth: 0x26E799305B85D3f7689253D6F2F7bD74cF67CCD5
zrx: 0x26E799305B85D3f7689253D6F2F7bD74cF67CCD5
dai: 0x26E799305B85D3f7689253D6F2F7bD74cF67CCD5
USDC: 0x26E799305B85D3f7689253D6F2F7bD74cF67CCD5

Sort:  

damn

never seen an animal survive a run-in with a vehicle.
here's to hoping you're soon living in abundance and don't have to worry about such trifles... Like keeping your pet alive vs putting food on the table. I know a lot of people who would have opted for the the vet's recommendation.

Yes, he is very lucky. It occurred when the neighbor was pulling out of the driveway, she came and got me immediately and was very apologetic, but it was never her fault and I never held her responsible.

And of course, I could never live with myself if I had to do that. Jasper is like a fourth child, and was given to me by my kids as a birthday present. Thus his life is inexorably linked to my own.

Thanks for your good wishes!

jasperemote.jpg

Congratulations @cryptoastronaut! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71