Introducing my dog to my new born daughter

in #pets6 years ago

When my wife was pregnant with our first child we were a little concerned how our dog Lucky would react to the newest little member of the family. He was 14 years old and he has never been around babies. All he has known is us and he was pretty much a spoiled dog. How was he going to take not getting all the attention? Would he get spiteful? All these thoughts were running through our minds. We made sure we had him sit next to my wife and he would smell her belly and lay on it. We even brought a baby doll into the house and held it while he was around. I don't think the doll fazed him much but it was worth a shot. 

Madison was born and when we brought her home Lucky sniffed her and just walked away. We made sure even though it was hard with having a newborn in the house to still give him as much attention as we could. A couple of days later Madison was laying in her swing and Lucky walked up to her smelt her and laid right next to her and fell asleep. That day I knew he was going to be ok with her. 

Madison is now 2 years old and Lucky is her best friend. He is so patient with her. She runs around the house chasing him, they play fetch, she feeds him every night. She may annoy him at times but he never once has shown any aggression towards her. He is such an amazing dog. My wife is pregnant with our second child. Hopefully they don't team up on Lucky but I know he will handle it well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69236.16
ETH 3848.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66