Dog Is God Spelled Backwards

in #pets8 years ago

I have always had an affinity for animals. When I was a child I would hear a kitten crying three miles away and spend hours searching for it so I could save it. My parents were thrilled I am sure. 

I have cried over the death of animals. I even have guilt from an incident as a teenager which ended in shooting a kitten with my new rifle after crushing its windpipe while fighting with my brother over said rifle!

But here is the thing, pets are not people. I understand that not everyone can have children. I really do, but this lack does not provide the logical jump required to promote a dog or cat to the level of human being simply because one wishes it to be so.

When people decide their pets are their children, in the true sense of the word, they are not just raising the value of their animals to that of children, they are lowering the value of my children to that of animals.

I have had multiple conversations with individuals on the Internets in which I have been told that choosing between saving the life of a pet or one's nephew (a question I propose in these discussions) would be either impossible or dependent upon which "person" is more likely to survive! I really hope these folks are not working for the fire department if my house catches on fire! 

I was demoted to idiot a few days ago for suggesting that the penalty for cruelty to animals should NOT be death by slow torture. One line of defense for this overly zealous love of dogs was that, "after all, dog is God spelled backwards." You cannot make this stuff up! There is an imbalance in Western society that frankly does not surprise me, but is disturbing nonetheless. Human life is often seen as disposable, while animal life is seen as sacred.

Of course, in general the topic is so emotional that discussing it on a level above name calling is all but impossible. Frankly, finding an ally   is difficult because even though they are out there they are reluctant to say anything because of an aversion to tar and/or feathers.

Personally, I believe it is offensive to refer to one's pets as children. I believe it is a symptom of a broken society and not just a choice to love animals. Mistreat animals? Absolutely not. Love them? You bet. Tell me you have a son when you have a pet, and then tell me you understand what it is like raising children? I think not. 

Yes, there are pet owners who have children as well as pets and treat them as equal heirs to the throne. To their children I say, I am sorry.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65144.58
ETH 2627.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83