Tales from the animal-shelter #4: ASYA. "I'm still the same seagull..."

in #pets7 years ago (edited)

    Dear steemit community! We start to publish short stories from the life of our animals and birds. Our English is not perfect, but we still hope very much you and maybe your children will like them. If so, please upvote, resteem and follow us to know more about our shelter and to support our animals and birds. Sencerely yours, Olga and Alex.


   I'm a seagull. I like to stand at the edge of the rock, when there is only the blue sea under me. The noise of the sea fascinates me. I remember my childhood as I was a chick. Here I first saw the light of the day, my parents, native rock and the Sea. I dive down and only almost near the water open my wings widely. The sea breeze grabs me and carries me up. Then I turn around and from the height of the sky I throw the last farewell look on my native stone island. It seems so small. My heart sank and a lonely tear fell off, falling down, to replenish the ocean from the same salty drops.  

  Today I'm flying to the Great Earth for the first time. There are rumors that people live there and they live in eternal prosperity. They always have something to profit ... I'm flying there. It's easy for me to soar over the sea. I straighten my wide wings and grandfather Wind himself holds me in his palm. I notice a flock of dolphins down. They decided to accompany me.  

  

  The first rays of the sun showed up and I saw the shore. It consisted of rectangular rocks that reflected sunlight. Flying closer, I even saw my reflection in them. The rocks were mirrored. Below, the earth looked alive from a multicolored mass of people.   

  Maneuvering among strange rocks, I felt a sharp smell of food. Near the tanks, was standing in a row a line of local cats, dogs and petty passerine punks. In search of a more peaceful place, I came across a stand-alone container. From the mountain of all rubbish I managed to get a naked chicken, the remains of a fish and a piece of something sweet.    

  However, I couldn't finish my breakfast. The truck drove up, turned the container inside, ate all its contents. "That's an appetite" - I had time to think, when a man came out of the truck and swung in my direction. I immediately took off, but a terrible pain pierced my whole body and I fell down, painfully hitting the wing on the fence.     

  I tried to take off again, but one wing did not work at all and was just dragging after me. The truck left and I crawled to the nearest bushes, trying to understand what happened. 

 Situation was bad. The pain did not stop, it started to rain. I was scared and hurt. By the evening I was already frightened by hunger, cold and pain. A full of people city did not pay any attention to me. Watching people with interest and watchful, I forgot for a while about the pain and came to myself only from the attempt to pull the lifeless wing closer to me.    

  Probably on the third day I was noticed. It was a chick of human with a sonorous, girlish voice. She held out her hand to me with something tasty, but I kept aloof. Then the girl put the food on the ground and left. 

  In the evening we met again. I immediately recognized her voice. This time she was together with her Mom. So I was at their house.

  In the morning I was taken to the veterinarian, who examined me for a long time. The day later the pain began to subside and I became more cheerful.  It was cozy and nourishing in this house. Sometimes the girl approached me and we got to know each other. However, as soon as the pain was finally settled, I wanted to go home. I was sad about the sea, dolphins, native rock.

  The window in the apartment was wide open and I decided to take advantage of it. Standing on the back of the chair, spreading my wings and shouting my favorite "ah-ah," I habitually pushed myself away and ... flew somersault. Only then I realized that I do not have one wing. Instead of my beautiful sail of feathers, a stump was sticking out. One wing is not enough to fly. I felt uneasy. Is it the same, I will never soar above the sea, not sit on my grandfather's Wind palm, not play catch-up with my dolphins, never see my native rock again? With these dreadful thoughts, I sat for days chuffed, refusing to eat.   

  It seems like an eternity. But one day the girl and her mother brought me to a courtyard filled with different birds. There lived proud storks, wild geese, a lovely pair of ogar-ducks and even crows. There were mandarin-ducks and caroline-ducks and beautiful pheasants. I told them about my grief, and was very surprised when I found out many of them had a similar misfortune. Each of us had a story and once we were together, we began to share them.    

   Over time, we became friends, played different games and continued to dream about a past life. Life in flight. These memories, stories and love for each other support us in the desire to live until now. And there are days when we are really happy.

  I'm still the same seagull, but now I have a name. People who love me and care about me call me Asya.    

 Tales from the animal-shelter #1: GEKA: adventures begin  

 Tales from the animal-shelter #2: CASTANETTA: victim of gunshot wound  

Tales from the animal-shelter #3: MOUSE: almost a labrador


Sort:  

Nice and touching story. Thank you for sharing!

You are welcome! I'm glad you like it :)

Excellent post!! thank you for sharing

That was a beautiful story! I'm glad Asya was okay in the end :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46