The pain of dealing with a very ill pet

in #pets7 years ago (edited)

Hi,

This is probably more like an open wall to bounce my emotions and grief off - firstly, I don't consider myself the emotional type - i can rationalise most feelings, have empathy for others and generally am able to process my feelings before they overwhelm me. This guy (pictured) has just been diagnosed with stage 3 cancer - he is old (over 12), but somehow I feel have failed him - why didn't i check those lumps? Was he panting more than normal, or was it just hot? Why did he go off his normal food, but then inhaled other food? Lots of guilt and pain to deal with. This guy and I am sure all our pets rely on us to make their world comfortable.

I remember the ball chasing, the food stealing (he was very quick!!!), the sighs of contentment

Am not sure what I am asking for, but perhaps (through these clumsily typed  thoughts) this will help me move to the inevitable  end with him. That said however, the medicine from the vet is relieving some of his symptoms, and he is almost back to old self. But I know this will continue - the word 'terminal' is just so final. Our family is finding this hard, and our daughter is dealing, for the first time, the close-up feel of death.

Be good to yourself, and your pets - they bring joy and comfort

Sort:  

very sorry i know your pain, i had to have my last dog of 16 years put to sleep because of bone cancer. It was a very hard decision, but his quilty of life was gone and pain meds did not help.

Thank you. They are amazing parts of your life. :)

Thank you - very hard

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62