The Petals Contests: Flowers - Red Torch Ginger

in #petals6 years ago

Here's my entry into #petals #flowers competition run by @petals.

IMG_3461a1.jpg

This is a photo of a Red Torch Ginger flower (Etlingera elatior), they're a green tall growing, clumping plant with a tuberous root system. Their flowers shoot directly from the ground and can stand up to a meter tall, as the plant ages the head of the flower can also increase in size. The flowers are large and have a waxy feeling to touch. They are a long lasting flower that can last for several weeks before turning bad which makes them very popular in the cut flower industry. They're a tropical plant but will grow well in the sub-tropics, they like to be kept moist at all times and grow best in soil with lots of organic matter.

Sort:  

Love the interse red color. 😍 love it 😍

Yeah they're pretty striking... they come in range of pink tones too. Cheers ; )

Love to see them too ❤️ Amazing colors , love them. 🍀

Yes I'll have to dig them out... I have folders and folders of plants and gardens.

Love... for the next time ;) I dont have many macros of flower, but I have a beautiful rose for roseopenweekend

Oh I love roses... always (well not always) so nice to photograph. I look forward to seeing it! : )

Thank you,
very much my friend🍀🍀

Oh I love this! The color, the texture, the composition. Awesome Kristy. I want to see one of these in real life.

They are pretty spectacular aren't they! I don't have this particular one growing in my garden but I have a few other gingers. The whole ginger family is pretty impressive!!

I will have to look more into Ginger flowers

There's so many... I was going to dig some out but I ran out of time, I will put that onto my to-do list : )

Great photo of a beautiful flower.

Thank you kindly : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89