Petals Contest - Pink Flower Day - Rhododendrons

in #petals6 years ago (edited)


Pink Rhododendrons


rhododendron flowers.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

I wasn't sure which rhododendron to choose for my pink flowers competition entry.

I was going to go with this one because I love how you can seen the pollen on the end of the stamens. But then I noticed the pollen is even clearer on the second one.

I'd already resized this one to be bigger at that point so I decided to stick with it. 😁

This one was my second choice.

deep pink rhododendron.jpg

And here are the buds of the one above.

rhododendron buds.jpg

Be sure to click on the images to view them full screen!

Turns out the second post was @qurator's favourite too and it was nominated for the Friday photography competition.

If you like it, please support my entry by going here and upvoting my comment.

It can be a 0 vote because the winner is the one with the most votes in a week's time.

Thank you all! 💙



Thank you to @adrianobalan and @sardrt for creating the #petals community and contests.
Find our more by clicking here.

Sort:  

Stunning photos, Gillian! I love the colour saturation of those reds and pinks. Beautiful!

Thank you so much @oleg326756. The second photograph has been nominated for Qurator's Friday photography competition.

If you could go and vote for it here I'd be most grateful. It can be a 0 upvote. It's the number of votes that count.

Thanks a bunch! 😍

Of course! Done! ;D

Thank you @oleg326756.

I appreciate your support, as always. 😊

The first is a wonderful photo. The delicate colors on the petals come out so nicely. However, I like the third picture because it is so unique.

I have lots of pictures of the buds at various stages @steven-patrick. I found them fascinating in real life. 😊

I like the top one best. The petals ares softer and look more natural for some reason than the second one. I think it's because there's all kinds of spots on the petals of the flowers in the second image and it does something to it—makes it look too sharp or something. Not sure how to explain it, but it's like the contrast was turned up.

I'll just say that in the first image the flower looks natural, the second one, it appears less so, for whatever reasons.

Interesting thoughts @glenbrethsen, especially as these are the flowers natural colours with no filters added.

I have some other photographs on a bush with smaller flowers that looks even more artificial because the natural colours are so vibrant.

It didn't come out very well though as there is not enough contrast between each flower.

Yeah. I had to look at the photo a couple of times to realize that there wasn't anything else going on, just the colors of the flower itself and the lighting it was in. That's actually a nice natural effect in and of itself, just not what I would expect to see from a flower. I guess what's most interesting is that you basically have the same flower, but due to some coloring differences, it makes one look softer while the other is more vibrant. Things is, if I saw it with my own eyes and not through an image of it on a computer screen, would I notice such a difference?

Yeah. You'd definitely notice the difference @glenalbrethsen. The colours on the screen, at least on my screen, are a fairly accurate representation of the colours in real life. 😊

Congratulations @gillianpearce!

Your Photography post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Photo Friday competition! Please click HERE and comment with the link of your picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


I've already done so @qurator. Very exciting!

Thank you for the opportunity. 😊

Perfectly beautiful! I love that first shot especially!

Horrah. At last. Someone who agrees with me @dmcamera. 😁

May a be a little cheeky and ask a favour . . .

The second photograph has been nominated for Qurator's Friday photography competition.

If you like it could go and vote for it here. I'd be most grateful. It can be a 0 upvote. It's the number of votes that count.

Thanks a bunch! 😍

I voted! Good luck!

Thank you @dmcamera. A vote from you means a lot. 😊

You are welcome!

Post full of energising colors and shots!

Thank you @adam-aj. Glad you liked it. 😊

May I ask you a favour . . .

The second photograph in this post has been nominated for Qurator's Friday photography competition.

Could you go and vote for it here. You'll find it in the comments.

I'd be most grateful. It can be a 0 upvote. It's the number of votes that count.

Thanks a bunch! 😍

I hope I done it correctly :)

You did a great job. Thank you @adam-aj. 😊

so beautiful pictures. I really love pink

Thank you @deepam. I love pink too.

Since you like it may I ask a favour . . .

The second photograph has been nominated for Qurator's Friday photography competition.

If you like it could go and vote for it here. You just have to upvote my comment that shows the second picture.

I'd be most grateful. It can be a 0 upvote. It's the number of votes that count.

Thanks a bunch! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56442.36
ETH 2405.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32