Petals Contest Rosesopenweekend Entry - Haiku

in #petals6 years ago

you're like a red rose

oceans can't keep us apart

our love's forever


red rose macro.jpg

Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!


CameraEOS 5D Mark II
LensEF100mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Exposure1/160 sec; f/22; ISO 200
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2017, Adobe Camera Raw

This image is for sale as an art print on Fineartamerica here and can be licensed for commercial use from Alamy here.


Everyone knows that the red rose is a symbol of love. My haiku is based upon the words of Scottish poet, Robert Burns who wrote a beautiful love song in 1794 comparing his love to A Red, Red Rose. It is written in Lawland (Lowland) Scots, a dialect of the southern part of Scotland, but I think you should get the gist of it!


A Red, Red Rose

O my Luve's like a red, red rose
That’s newly sprung in june;
O my Luve's like the melodie
That’s sweetly play'd in tune:

As fair art thou, my bonie lass,
So deep in luve am I;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
Till a' the seas gang dry.

Till a' the seas gang dry, my dear,
And the rocks melt wi' the sun;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
While the sands o' life shall run.

And fare-thee-weel, my only Luve!
And fare-thee-weel, a while!
And I will come again, my Luve,
Tho' 'twere ten thousand mile!


Isn't that so romantic? All Sottish schoolchildren in my school days could sing all four verses by heart. I still can. Whenever I see a red rose, my brain is triggered to make me think of these beautiful words and to hum the tune.


Thanks to @sardart and @adrianobalan for creating @petals and the #petals contests. Check the link with the rules for the #petals contests here.


Also, don't forget that the #wiwcontest now has a WEEKLY theme, and this week's theme is WHITE FLOWERS! Get your entries uploaded before SATURDAY 31st March at midnight EST for a chance to win! Also, please don't forget to Upvote the post here, to add the tag #wiwcontest, and that the flowers must be predominantly white! That's all you need to do to be entered into the contest!


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for tips and tutorials about photography.


my banner.png


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

You do have an incling to writing poems! Great job!
.
.
The poem talks about endurance of a PURE LOVE!

Thanks or your kind comment!

Excellent capture!!

Beautiful red and textures!

Thanks @kieranstone! I like making abstracts from nature.

Red fades to crimson
Nature’s beautiful sweet kiss
From velvet petals

That’s cool!

Thanks. Good photos are supposed to be inspirational. Yours was!

Thanks! Glad you were inspired!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31