Hello and Goodbye; The Life and Death of Longfellow, My best friend yall.

in #pet7 years ago

IMG_0523.JPG

After the woman of my dreams suddenly got cold feet and ran for the hills, I was left in a pit of confusion and depression. Rather experienced in heart ache and depression I knew that this rough time would pass. But I wanted a furry friend to help me through. "What are you going to name your cat?" Logan asked as we drove to the pound. "Hmm..." I paused. "I will name him Longfellow." I declared. As we made our way to the cat area I began to "feel" each cat. "Which one is mine?" I asked as I peered into the cages. The moment I saw him, it just felt right. "You're my Longfellow." I said.

I made my way to front desk and told the kind woman which lucky cat I would adopt. "Ah, Long John." She said. "He's a lover." My eyes grew wide,"Long John? That's amazing, I'm naming him Longfellow." I said. I figured that was just evidence of finding the right little fur ball to take home. I was right too, Longfellow was perfect for me and he knew that he was my best furry friend. When I changed from morning shift to night shift, Longfellow did too. He wouldn't go to sleep until I got home at 6 am and then he would stay up all throughout the night. I would wake up and little Longfellow's head was laid back onto the pillow like a little furry human. Many of my greatest memories are of him just simply being there in the time I needed him.

But, one day Longfellow didn't come home. Two days, he does that sometimes. 7 days, he's done it. But, 10 days... I didn't think he would ever come back. One night as I slept deeply in my cozy bed my furry best friend floated into my dreams, he purred into my ear just as he floated away. "Longfellow is dead, I told my family. He visited me last night before he left." It was possibly the sweetest dream I've ever had. It was as if Longfellow was saying to me, "You no longer need me." Of course everyone had their doubts but I knew. And three days later we found his lifeless body on the highway. Later that same night he visited me one last time in a dream. I thought, "Oh, you're not gone!" Dreams are difficult to distinguish from reality when you're in them. When I awoke I knew I dreamt it up. He was gone but, so was my sadness. I wasn't sad when he died, I only missed him. Longfellow was my best friend and he helped me through some hard times, he was an incredible cat and this post is my final goodbye. Thank you for being so great to me. Till we meet again. Love, your human. I wonder what you called me.

Sort:  

What a beautiful tribute to your furry friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06