PETS BLOG #02: “My Hedgehog, Water Plants and Ivory Snails”

in #pet7 years ago
Meet “Hedge Sheeran” my 4 year old hedgehog. He loves to eat dog food, but I also give him superworms once a week for his protein. He sleeps mostly during the day and he is lively at night since they are nocturnal. If you want to play with Hedge Sheeran, just carefully touch his tummy first, because you might get poked by his quills. Hedgehogs are famous for their quills which they have everywhere except on their face, legs, and belly. I clean him up once a month using an old toothbrush and my kid’s shampoo (haha!). Sometimes when my kid and I are playing, I put him outside his DIY habitat and let him play and crawl on the floor. Yes, indeed it’s messy! But it is part of having a pet at home. He was widowed 2 years ago, his partner died because of a failed pregnancy.

Water Plants

plant1.png

These are my plants; Anubias Nana Petite, Anubias Barteri, Anubias Coffeefolia, Duckweed, Frogbits, Java Moss and Marimo Moss ball.

I got this passion from my mother. When I was young, I used to help her every time she beautifies her garden at our backyard. And now that I am living in the city, we don’t have much space for plants, so this is my way to continue my passion. I keep my tank clean by changing a portion of the water 1-2 times a week.

I also added a couple of Ivory Apple snails to help clean the tank. Snails are often seen as pests, but they can also be beneficial in getting rid of unwanted elements in an aquarium, such as algae and left over food and plant decay. They can also be an attraction to your tank because of their color. Like they say, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”

I hope you like it!

Follow me @noime

XOXO

UPVOTE
RESTEEM
FOLLOW

Sort:  

This post has received a 63.48 % upvote from @whatsup thanks to: @noime.

Hope Hedge Sheeran finds a date this Valentine's :P

haha! I hope so..

good post vote me please @mohdmohsin .

Ganda ng plants at cute ni Sheeran. :)

thank you friend!

So cute hedge sheeren!
I love hedgehogs, but we have to be careful because of thorns. You can not bring and joke with him as free as a cat. Nice post @noime

thank you my friend @irwansyah270889 , do you have a pet too?

thanks for visiting...

Ya, first I have it, after that I release it because I consider dangerous.
U are welcome @noime

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50