You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "The Dark Before the Dawn" - Original Poetry

in #pet-photography6 years ago

For though this place was stranger still
The language, too, unknown
Still a piece of sky came with me
And it brought a sense of home
I am thankful I'm a sailor
For in sailing through the years
The stars upon the water
Bring a thinking soul to tears

I love this!!! So much -- all of it!

Sort:  

Thank you. It has long been one of my favorites.

Our shared love of stargazing is a large part of how we ended up where we are living now - we are midway between Nashville, Knoxville and Chattanooga, with the closest cities of any size half an hour in any direction, and our closest town, Sparta, which is also our county seat, rolls up the sidewalks promptly at five o'clock. And half the businesses are still shuttered due to the recession.

As a result, we have no light pollution, so even before it is fully dark, we can usually clearly see the Milky Way, and meteor showers here are spectacular.

When I lived in Largo, I had to drive two hours north to Ocala for a night sky this dark. Now I just turn off my porch lights and walk outside. And it is even darker down by the studio, because it is lower than the main house, between two hollows, and surrounded by tall trees. We have a second smaller fire pit in the clearing there.

Here again is a keeper of a reply - so descriptive, so lyrical! Bonded by your love of stargazing, driving two hours for night sky without light pollution, the local history, the scenes, moods, atmospheres you create in so few words - you're such a natural writer, everything you write is polished and publishable!

Thank you, Carol.

I've been told that for much of my life, but only comparatively recently have I begun to believe it. ;-)

But then, I grew up reading such exemplary writers, that when your comparisons are masters at their craft, it's not hard to view oneself as coming up short. The bottom line is to keep writing every day, which I've been doing for some time now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43