Persuasion, Imagination, and Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah

in #persuasion8 years ago (edited)

As a kid I loved magic tricks.

Illusions

That is until I tried to learn to do them myself. I never could quite get it right.

Then there were the optical illusions books. I spend hours cross-eyed looking at them until the image appeared.

The lessons we learn from illusions is that things are not always the way they first appear to be. I think it is beneficial to have a healthy level of skepticism or discernment.

Also illusions, although opening our minds to alternative perspectives, usually turn out to be nothing more than a fleeting forgery.

I have yet to have the ideas the illusions present manifest as truth in a knowable way.

With that information in mind, let me present introduction beginning with an existential question:

What are we doing here?

This is the first article as part of my series on Persuasion as described in the introduction article Raise Your Steem Power Through Persuasion.
The goal is to share with you the lessons of persuasion I have been learning through the Persuasion Reading List put together by Scott Adams.

You came back, which means you have an eye for value.

So let us get on with it.

Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah by Richard Bach

 Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah

Again this book is under the section on Imagination

The point being that you expand your mind through reading about different possibilities and viewpoints that you may not have considered. In this case a story on illusions and the possibilities of alternate realities.

Given that you are reading this here on #steemit, it is clear that you are open to change.

This book again opens with this Notice and disclaimer here that the images of the text are being used for educational purposes. Mainly that of educating you on the benefits of using persuasion in your writing in the #steemitcommunity.

Notice

With that being said, I enjoyed this book immensely and read it in just a few short hours

I recommend that you do so too

In the book of Illusions there are “quotes from the Messiah's Handbook”

The following is a screenshot of one of them:

I1
All screenshots are from a PDF copy of Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah by Richard Bach

This book’s book presupposes that reality as we know it is not.

I disagree with this premise but I am open to reading about things I don’t believe.

I do believe that Truth about reality is knowable

I2

Being publicly published is part of what #steemit and the internet is all about.

Not being ashamed about what you post is a different story.

The maxim is still a good reflection on behavior awareness and how the choices we make may or may not be impactful. To be #persuasive you must be willing to make known your position and be willing to defend it.

However, to use #persuasion effectively you should not rely solely on reason, but instead should learn the multilayered art of persuasion to help you achieve your goals.

I3

One might say: “count it joy when you face trials of various kinds”

Your perspective shapes your reaction.

I4

I5

Have we not felt this while posting on #steemit that need to say what we knew, and noby cared enough to listen?

I would encourage you not to lose heart, but to keep posting that you may continue to tell us in the #steemitcommunity your story!

I6

As with several of these quotes we will find our illusions come from our own perspectives.

What can’t you do and why?

Think about this and determine if it is actually true or just a story you have been telling yourself.

I7

I8

Here he describes life, your life, as a movie in which you are in control. To what extent I agree with this, I find it a fascinating exercise to have a perspective in which I have influence on the outcomes of the story in which I am living. Perhaps viewing life this way will help you in some way.

But you might say:

I9

And I would say:
I10

I11

Working for things may seem undesirable, but what is the alternative?

I12

This I would say as an encouragement to read fiction if you currently don’t. Many things online are non-fiction and educational. The art of studying Classic Literature is waning but is not lost.**

Personally I have grown immensely through reading great works of fiction.

If you have a favorite book that has changed your life, let me know in the comments section!

I14

With that in mind, go read and know that you have a mission. Find it.

I15

Hopefully you’ve expanded your imagination to allow for you to be open to things you were not open to at the start of this post.

You sacrifice of your time and attention is not an easy one to part with, but I thank you greatly for it.

Check back for more on this series on persuasion

Because you never know who you are going to meet...

@StrangerArray

The guide:

*Introduction to Persuasion Series
*First Flight: Imagination and Persuasion
*Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah
*Comming Soon…Influence by Robert B. Cialdini

Also Scott posted How Persuaders See the World today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64300.62
ETH 3165.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56