How good are the Good Ol’ days?

in #perspectives6 years ago (edited)

I was making my usual round at the Lagos State Government Secretariat Alausa, Lagos. This day I was holding proposals in my hands, my idea I believe will revolutionize the Lagos State transportation sector and probably scaled up and adopted across Nigeria. Lagos is my first point of call and this time I am to visit the commissioner for transportation.

This took me to the Ministry of Transportation and as I walk down the alley I couldn’t help but notice the beautiful pictures on the wall. I took out my phone and captured some of the most captivating transitions of the modern day Lagos. These framed pictures will be our focal point on #Perspectives today.

Life and timesLagos, Nigeria
LocationMinistry of Transportation (MoT), Lagos State
Camera8 MP (f/2.2, 29mm, 1/3", 1.5 µm)

Ikorodu Road,1947

This will surely bring nostalgia to Lagos residents and visitors here. 71 years after, None of those trees is standing today. This tiny road is now a double carriage highway crisscrossed by pedestrian bridges.

Ikorodu Road.jpg

Idumota Lagos, 1959

Time travel, 59 years ago only a few commuters can be seen on now bustling commercial bee-hive of Lagos.

IMG_5289.JPG

Carter Bridge Lagos, 1959

You do not want to be on this bridge between the peak hours of 4pm-9pm. This bridge, as seen in the picture once had more pedestrians than motorists.

IMG_5290.JPG

Locationyear
Ikorodu Road1947
Idumota Lagos1959
Carter Bridge Lagos1959

While there is a high tendency for us to create a longing for those old times, remember you will have to let go of the internet and all the beautiful things you can now do from the corner of your room to fit into that era.

From the global climate change, Nuclear war threats (bigger buttons) to rising inequality. Each generation is presented with its own unique opportunities and challenges and must rise up to doing justice to the task. The longing for the Good Old Days is more of a mirage than reality. Today is a present, make good use of this Gift.

If you love my post, Kindly Upvote and Resteem . ;)

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hpabiola to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Thanks for taking us readers a trip down memory lane bro! 😀

Thank You for reading. :)

See the bush in Ikorodu, If only my Grandfather had seen the future, by now I’d have been collecting land dues up and down...and tell myself I’m not real estate

lmao... for real. I was shocked when i saw the narrow roads at the ministry also.

Seeing into the future is so important for successful business life. I wonder why some prophets are broke.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57459.32
ETH 3055.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30