Fuck the 'Nay Sayers' !steemCreated with Sketch.

in #perspective6 years ago (edited)

DSCF6862.jpg

Here you are on your personal path, cruising along following your dreams and doing your thanggg...you know, feeling good THEN-

Some passer by cannot help but comment, pry and start trying to tell you how they see you or how they see themselves in relation to you, or any good ol' negative garbage.

I affectionately call these people the NAY SAYERS!!!! The people who want to shut you down, say 'no' and project their own fears on you. For some it's sub conscious for others it's flat out manipulative and it can present as passive or real aggressive. We've all encountered someone like that in our life. From family to friends, colleagues or the woman in line at the grocery store check out shaming you with her eyes for the Chocolate Peanut Butter HagenDaz you are buying 2 of (it's on sale...okay, but even if it wasn't)

As human beings we are all trying to make sense of a whacky world. We're all trying to balance listening to our intuition while pleasing the people around us. Then add- make money, survive, find love, meditate, invent something etc etc etc. It can feel like a lot.

I believe that we all want to live meaningful lives and I truly believe everyone is trying their best. The negative people are acting out of their own needs and insecurities and we shouldn't even let them get to us right?!

But ohhhhh those sneaky Naysayers can get real loud, real quick.

DSCF7010.jpg

They start chirping and trying to give you advice then the little voice of doubt we all carry in our head chimes in with a "what are you doing with your life" and next thing you know it's a cacophony of chaos and you just wanna shut it all down including your intuitive voice and then you're confused, anxious and probably hungry.

When I started circus after a degree in acting everyone thought I was losing my mind. Fellow actors assumed I had quit acting (heaven forbid a gal have multiple talents am I right?!) and even my supportive family was giving me an eye roll. When someone would say how I didn't act anymore or I was only a circus artist- I would feel hot and want to get angry but I came to realize that that was all of their own drama being projected onto me.

It was a representation of their limitations, not mine.

My life has flourished and grown far beyond just being an actor vs. circus artist or fitting any tiny box people try to put me in (and lets be real, I would use my bendy ninja skills to escape any box in a heart beat)

If I am feeling angry or flustered about something someone says I check in with myself and own whatever my truth is. This isn't always easy, it's a practice! Once I've done that, then I get to choose how I respond. No more defending myself or getting into an argument, I take the power because I don't have time for any of that bullshit- I'm working on my empire OH SNAP!

So shine on baby! Fuck the Nay Sayers! Go slay another day!

DSCF7018.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44