Influence 101: If You Look At Life Like A Game, Here's How You Can Fix the Odds

in #personaldevelopment7 years ago (edited)

I don't think there was ever a time I wanted to be a psychologist. Maybe it's the setting of being in an office. Though now it makes me think that there may be an unmet need. Walking Therapies? (I know...there's the challenge of being able to walk and talk with your therapist while still keeping whatever you said in confidence. Kind of difficult for that to happen while taking a walk in a park)


What has been the constant in my life has been discovery --- it may be all those hours playing NES, SEGA, & Playstation. I had been reminded that things happen in levels, that I wouldn't be able to appreciate one thing before the other. The example that came to mind was (finally) getting into 'The West Wing', which helped me appreciate 'Friday Night Lights', and eventually 'The Newsroom'. My next level consisted of starting with 'The Good Wife', following it up with 'Better Call Saul' (Season 1), then having Rectify (Season 4) as a finale. 


While re-reading Philip Hesketh's book (I've learned that there are two versions: 'Life's a Game So Fix the Odds' and 'How To Persuade And Influence People') these are the two concepts that I found most valuable:


1.) Start with believing you can

From remembering someone's name to becoming more likable, if you don't work in getting your focus sorted all that knowledge would be wasted. One quick way of gaining confidence is experimenting. Find out what works for you.

For the Q&A series, I constantly tweak my pitch email. Making sure it appeals to the right people. Do I get rude answers? Sometimes I do. Does it sting? Of course!


https://www.instagram.com/p/BZBtASUH1e2/?tagged=failure


2.) Feelings matter instead of facts and logic

A complimentary explanation is found in this hour-long talk by Simon Sinek. It has to do with that part of our brain that is allocated to emotions, this is why when someone asks me why I am friends with a particular person, I struggle to find an answer I'm happy with. 


How to find what feelings matter to a particular person? Just listen. It does not mean you lose yourself. I remember watching an informercial that only talked about the problem. It just makes a big difference if you feel like someone understands you. The most thoughtful gift I've received is not something that just communicates 'I know you', it shows that the giver is constantly keeping in touch with you and makes note of things that they know you'll value (babysitting for a month because your parents are on holiday during that period).


https://www.instagram.com/p/BXMCwucjzOl/?taken-by=simonsinek


Could this be the right book to take you to your next level


Photo by Mary Jean Massie



Sort:  

kolbisneat Andrew Kolb tweeted @ 26 Feb 2016 - 21:07 UTC

Q&A Friday! @LeighLim asked the hard-hitting Qs and I came back with cookie-filled As. #WNEQA wondernotenvy.wordpress.com/2016/02/26/qa-…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Congratulations @leighlim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Life does seem to be very 'level' orientated. I do energy work and it feels like we have layers of blocks and we have to work through the levels of these blocks to feel good and clear of all the junk that has built up.

Great idea about the 'walking therapist'! Could work in some private retreats or quieter places, rooms can be daunting and closing in on you and I just couldn't be tied to one room all day, I know so many people do this, but it'd drive me crazy! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62802.36
ETH 2462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62