POWER OF OUR OWN THOUGHTS

images (1).png

Attitude: This is a manner, disposition, feeling, position, etc., with regard to a person or thing; tendency or orientation, especially of the mind: Note; especially of the mind".

“Nothing can harm you as much as your own thoughts unguarded.”

The attitude we have, right or wrong regarding to our lives and the challenges abound determines our success and failure.

She walked in to my room narrating how unbearable and unloving life had treated her. On her hands were a cellphone and and a supposed suicide note; I have to end this pain, she said in a fainty voice, and of a truth she looked miserable.

Fact is, I showed no sympathy to her. Very bad of me anyway, but I chose not to because I didn't really know how to change her mind at that instance.

Staring at me in expectant of an out pour of my heart in sympathy and consolations. Just then, MARC Chernoff's story popped up in my head. I Smiled and politely told her to raise her cellphone up above her head, awkwardly she did.

My room became as silent as dead, no one was talking again only her eyes balls were rolling round in surprise of what I was doing. I sat quitely facing her as we both stared at ourselves.

First two to five minutes were gone already, ten minutes gone. A scene like that of a father punishing his daughter, she was already pissed at me. At thirty minutes her arm were already full of pains so, she dropped her hands even without asking me first.

Angrily she asked why she had to put her phone up. I overruled her question and asked her; how heavy was your cellphone at first five, ten and thirty minutes respectively? It was weightless at five minutes, became heavy at ten minutes, and at thirty minutes my arm was full of pains so, I had to drop my hand down. She answered.

Get this, I said. The weight of your cellphone was actually and totally irrelevant. It all depends on how long you held it up. Weightless at first five, lightly heavy at ten and, unbearably heavy at thirsty minutes with a cramp, numb and paralyzed arm that forced you to drop the cellphone. However, the absolute weight of your cellphone never changed, but the longer you it up the heavier it felt.

It is pertinent to note that; our challenges in life, our miseries, our failures, disappointments, tough times, those rough time, our darkness and those frustrating challenges are all weightless as her cellphone.

Think about them for a little while and nothing happens, think about them a bit longer and you begin to feel noticeable pains and, if you think about them all day long you will feel miserable, numb, paralyzed and incapable of making progress until you drop them down.

The problems is not the challenges, the problem is our attitude towards the challenges. So, to live happy, to last long, to make progress, to succeed, and to reach your dreams you must develop an attitude to think less of the challenges of life.

When God, determination, courage, resilience and focus is your attitude then, you will have no limitations.
Develop an attitude to think less of life challenges and an attitude to think more on the victory that await you through persistency.

©coolval

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64