You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [PERSONAL] Two memories of the World Trade Center and stomping around NYC with my dad when I was a kid

in #personal8 years ago

I'm in North Jersey so I'm roughly the same distance from the city as you seem to be. I don't have memories of my dad going in to the city regularly, but I did go in with him every now-and-then, but never to the towers. However, I do have a fond memory of the towers and my dad... my dad has been in a wheelchair for almost thirty years and earlier on in his paralysis he was still working as an architectural draftsman. In 1993, after the truck-bomb in the basement of the towers, a decision was made to upgrade the elevator plates to make them more handicap accessible and when the time came to pick a design, my dad's concept was chosen. I never got to see his design after it was installed, but ever since 9/11 I've always had that bit of something to help me think more positively about the horrific events of that day.

Sort:  

That is really cool that his design was chosen for an important project like that. It must have been a shining moment for him. Sadly, I haven't been back to the city since that year. I haven't seen the Freedom Towers or the monuments. Sometimes I still think it's too fresh...and a part of me wants to remember the skyline of my youth.
Thanks for sharing your story, @robsteady

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43