Still Entangled in Failure

in #personal6 years ago (edited)


Source

"I ultimately want to stop being a loser."

It was the one thing that I managed to write in this space almost two months ago - and as I open a new post thinking very similar thoughts - and seeing that exact statement waiting for me - it strikes me that things haven't really changed at all.

It is increasingly apparent that I shall eventually pass from this World with a mile-long list of regrets. It often enough feels like that there is nothing that I can, or will, do to alleviate this fate. Thus-far I haven't even had the "spine" to become the bastard that I recognize that I'd need to be to make any leeway in getting ahead in this dystopian jungle.

The aura of failure that surrounds me has made me a bitter individual. A part of me truly wishes to lash out and cause harm, but I have no target that I wish to lash out at. This is probably for the best and yet it adds to the sense of frustration.

I have mentioned that I am succumbing to video game addiction. I play games to feel better about myself. To feel any sense of validation upon this lower level plane of existence, virtual or otherwise. For this reason every little victory feels a little like hunting the meal of the day - and every loss feels like an underlining of my identity as a failure.

A lot of my energy goes into attempted self-validation in this way, every day. Every little misfortune that comes my way, in life or in game, feels amplified like my senses are rubbed raw and tender. A part of me wants to scream but it often simply forms a knot in my throat as I die very slightly inside instead.

And as with any addiction I often feel empty afterwards. My only solace being that the next day is an opportunity for better... but better it never truly is. Its just another day of being a loser wasting his energy on a game, nursing wounds that never heal.

Cursed with a perpetual tiredness of the soul that manifests every time he lays fingers to keys to write, so much so that most of this has been re-written following 'dozing off' on the 'backspace' button and wiping out the entire article that took upward of a month to begin... yet another reminder of how cursed I truly am.

And, lest the anger that fueled this rewrite should fade to permit another weariness-fueled micro-disaster amplified by my perspective, I shall stop here for today - trying not to think about how I've again failed to make a post about anything other than how far I've fallen.

Sort:  

Good to hear from you James but sucks to hear that you are still in this dark place dude. Stay strong man.

Ow yeah, I find you choice of words very beautiful. Even though as I understand it takes you so long to write the, do not stop doing that please

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66