The Reality of my Mortality

in #personal6 years ago

I woke up this morning with three people in my thoughts: my father, John, and my two aunts, MiCha and WonKyeong.
Cancer claimed all three of them before they reached the age of 60.

And then I thought: I'm 46 now. If my mortality is based on the average age at the time of death for the last three close relatives then I probably have 13 or 14 more years left.

hmm...

Maybe that sounds morbid to some people but it's a reality check for me.
I'm certainly not trying to die before the age of 60, or turn into a self-fulfilling prophesy, but we don't have longevity in my family tree.

Why am I sharing this?
Because it is a reminder to my self to find joy in the work that I do; appreciation for the things that I have; love for my family.

Meredith Loughran, web designer, blogs on Steemit, creative writer

  • Say 'I love you' more often.
  • Mean what you say; say what you mean...
  • ...and speak kindly when you can. It is a choice.
  • Work your job; don't let it work you.
  • Get rid of the bad ju-ju in your life.
  • Take a moment to appreciate nature.
  • Find value in yourself and treasure it.
  • Build the legacy you wish to be remembered by.

Meredith Loughran, web designer, creative writer, and blogs on Steemit

Maybe - just maybe - if I take care of my health and the world around me the earth won't be in a rush for my ashes.

*images were created by Meredith Loughran in Canva

Sort:  

Goodness!!! Those are the crazy "jump out of your sleep" thoughts that happen every often when our brains bring the mortality topic to the forefront for a few seconds. Then we turn on Spongebob to distract and make it go away :-p I wish you many many more years beyond 14.

Aw, thanks @steempowerpics. I hope for more than 14 years too. If cancer doesn't get me then I have a good shot at hitting 80. I love it when my dead relatives speak to me. It usually means I'm going to get something done that day. :)
Did you know Patrick Starfish is one of my favorite characters? But I don't need TV anymore. I have Candy Crush. LOL

:-) Looks like our trends are running in opposite directions lol, my son and I were hooked on candy crush, then moved to Spongebob and Fairly Odd Parents.

He drew this back in January.

That is really really good!

I am very impressed with your post, I really like it

Thank you again @merej99

Your post made me sit back and think!
I honestly believe that I am doing most on your list already but that will not stop me from trying to do even better!
Have yourself a marvelous day!
xxx
Snekky

Hey beautiful!
Sometimes it's really hard to be good (which is why I say the whiskey is for medicinal purposes). LOL
HUGS

I love you, enjoy your day, hug more people, walk through the coming spring, and take care of your health ....we all can do this together ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Us girls gotta stick together and keep it real around here! ❤️ Love you back ❤️

Thank you very much for sharing this thought and the tips, it invites a great reflection.
I appreciate that dear friend @ merej99.
I wish you a wonderful day

Reflection is so important but sometimes it can be depressing. Today I woke up refreshed and I can thank my dad and my aunts for reminding me, even in my sleep, that I need to work on the things that I love too. ❤️

I've already screwed up so I can't build a legacy. But I can cheer others on!!
I also love nature that's my bliss.

Good post - lots to digest. Thanks for your openness Mere. It's refreshing.

Pshaw Deb! Everyone you have touched, whether in real life or online become your living legacy, just as you become a part of their legacy. We are the storytellers and the memory keepers. Sometimes I'm shocked that people remember my name especially if I haven't seen them in a long time. I'm perfectly content to be known as the crazy ferret lady, or the strange woman who kept calling herself BATMAN. lol ❤️

iambatman.jpg

Aw Mere. Thanks for your kind words. :) Crazy bat lady.....from bat @#it crazy me.(so they say - but who are they anyhow?)

Right?!? they don't matter :P

Hello Mere,

I'm sorry I missed this when you posted, and so very sorry to learn of your loss of these dear ones, and at such early ages! :O

Don't let cancer claim you, my friend. It's never too early to learn that the vast majority of westerners have been hoodwinked by the medical/industrial complex. I'm glad you've taken this to heart, and I hope that you'll bookmark and read up on these sites in advance:

http://cancertutor.com
https://beating-cancer-gently.com/
http://chrisbeatcancer.com

There are other good sites, but those three are outstanding.

My personal, very sad experience has been that those friends and relatives I know who chose to consult with and follow the "guidance" of oncologists contemporary witch doctors all have one thing in common now—they are all dead.

The only cancer survivors that I know are all alive today because they took what are slighted and disparaged by "professionals" and in the media as "alternate" routes.

Bless you, my friend!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50