Damn you insomnia!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #personal7 years ago

I've tried several times to go to sleep and yet my mind is busy.

Tick | Tick | Tick | Tick

Meredith Loughran blogs on Steemit @merej99

It's a constant cycle of one song on a frenzied repeat.
It's a list of work things that still need to be done.
It's anticipation to start the next fun project
And the not-so-fun home improvement project.
It's the waiting for more equipment to arrive.

Is this excitement? Suspense? A-N-X-I-E-T-Y?


Ah... to close my eyes and embrace the dark silence!

My brain feels like it's doing jumping jacks
...just bouncing from one thing to the next
But my eyes are being bad neighbors;
They're itchy and tired


Damn my eyes for not keeping up!

Dear sleep, where are you?

Tick | Tick | Tick | Tick

And the carousel keeps turning...

Tick

Tick

Tick

Tick

All gifs sourced from giphy.com

Sort:  

More activity with deeper breathing is great to get one to sleep... https://steemit.com/health/@kyusho/sleep-exercise

Thank you for the link @kyusho
I'm definitely going to try the deep, controlled breathing.

just as like as me. when i went to sleep all kind of work circule around my mind and i can not sleep properly.

A part of me wonders if it's stress but I honestly don't feel stressed. Maybe I'm in denial? I had about 4 hours of really broken sleep and the only thing that's tired are my eyes. Everything else: brain and body, is wide awake! Maybe I need to go for a brisk walk or something. Exercise might help. What do you do to turn off the noise in your head?

Well that clock would put me to sleep or make me barf, one or the other. The carousel did it for me though.....I snot laughed. lol.

Okay re sleep. Everyone is an expert...but no one knows what you experience, not really. A BUSY mind is hard to slow down. How do I know? I know.

If you want to do some breathing exercises I recommend this helpful app - you can put it on your phone too and you don't have to subscribe...it's free. Seriously free. I used it for a year. https://www.headspace.com/

I might have even done a post on it....let me go check. I can't find it. If I do I'll let you read it.

But basically it's not weird and the guy who does the breathing exercises with you has a decent voice and he teaches you stuff. I highly recommend it. It might help you focus on one thing at a time which will relax you.

Edit: I found it! and not only did I find my post I found a bunch of others from Steemit. Here's mine And if you are interested type in Headspace and Steemit - you'll find a bunch of other people's experiences with the app.

COOL! Anything to help without taking drugs because, unfortunately booze is like an adrenaline shot. Damn those Irish genes! LOL So, I only had 3-4 hours of really broken sleep this morning and I'm surprised I'm not the little girl on the carousel but there's stuff to do...and I'm doing 'em. 😜

Aren't you always surprised that instead of rescuing their children from something like this carousel, parents think of getting a video?? I am. That's the last thing I would think .

I agree with the medications. Sometimes I take benadryl to help me sleep but them I feel hung over. I go through this sleep nonsense too....and it makes me soooooo crabby.

Oh... I'm one of those parents that would FIRST make sure my child had a pulse...and then take the video before carrying them to bed. LOL My kids have been warned that I was going to live long enough to embarrass them. tee hee.

Yes, yes. I used it as a way to keep them in line. Proof with photos or sound! Such bad parenting. haha....Nah, I'd never embarrass anyone. Did I tell you about the land I bought in Florida?? lol

Hi @mitchelljaworski! I haven't been around in a long while. Glad to see you're still here :)
Yeah... insomnia. Day 2 and I don't feel like I'm going to get any rest tonight either. sigh

Gosh...how are you Meredith? Haven't spoken to you in ages with that whole mess....

We're still dealing with that whole mess but I'm seeing a light at the end of the tunnel FINALLY, which has allowed me to flex my creative wings a little bit again. Priorities. Meh.
Hanging in there though. I can't believe it's nearly 5 AM. My eyes are screaming but the rest of me won't rest.
How are you doing? What have you been up to lately?

You should get yourself something to sleep..try something like Phenergan anti-histamine...even just for a few days to cure this insomnia. (They use is for old people to treat their sleeping patterns and it is safe to use even for kids.) I've just been going on normally. Writing and working. We should chat more sometime on discord. GET SOME SLEEP!

Oh! Come to think of it, my brother uses ZzQuil. I tried it once and it seemed to work. I may have to get some. But part of this is cyclical too. Around November thru December I'm depressive and right around springtime it's manic's turn.

Why don't five a try to lavender aroma therapy? It's good to make me feel relax and sleep deep in my experience

So many of my friends have recommended aroma therapy. I'm afraid to try it because I'm sensitive to a lot of scents because it can trigger a migraine - and sometimes it even irritates my rosacea. I'm getting OLD. That's the problem! If it's not my brain keeping me up, it's my bladder. 😝

Hi @merej99. I do belong to this problem. What I have learned lately and Ive been doing this for like 2 weeks already is that, I prepare 'banana peel tea' ... It helps me relax then sleep. This might help you.

I've never tried banana peel tea. Do you have a recipe? I've tried Matcha tea with ginger in the past but it's very hard to find in the local grocery store.

I feel your pain...
Been there, done that.

😄😇😄

@creatr

I think we've had many a sleepless night on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56