A letter to RCT LEO, J. at bootcamp

in #personal7 years ago

My son Jeremy is three weeks into bootcamp on Parris Island and I have yet to receive one letter! Not one!

But staying true to form and injecting my humor into letters for him, I have written the following:

oh my dear, dear child,
3 weeks into bootcamp and your mother has not gotten one letter.

I don't consider myself an evil woman but you're gonna taste the rainbow soon if I don't get a little love. Ha! Ha! Ha!

Naw... I wouldn't do that...

orwouldi.jpg

Do you think that will prompt him to write his mother?

Don't get me wrong, I'm actually not upset. I get some updates from his lady love.

At the time he wrote to her, he was named Fire Squad Leader. I don't know what this responsibility entails but Pat tells me it sucks... and that makes me chuckle. just a little bit.

I'm fairly certain my child just wants to survive bootcamp without worrying about extra responsibilities. LOL

Ah... KARMA

Am I evil to find such glee in hearing that my son so tested?

My baby boy, Josh heads to Parris Island on May 22nd. I stocked up on postage stamps today and have already begun the letter writing campaign for him. LOL

Follow me on Twitter or
visit my website to connect

Thank you giphy.com for supplying the gifs.
All other images are mine.
The green guy on the right is courtesy of Pixabay CC0 public domain
Sort:  

Congratulations @merej99! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

COOL. Love it @steemitboard - this announcement ROCKS!

At this point he may fear his drill instructor more than his Mom, so his attention is.... elsewhere...

Just thinkin' out loud.

I think you're right @aunt-deb. Jeremy knows my humor. I would never do anything to bring unwarranted attention to him. I hope the "skittles" rainbow heart makes him smile though. :) And maybe the SASE will give him a clue? :P

The SASE will be a very good hint! And, I'm sure he'll be chuckling over the 'skittles' for a while.

I need to get toner for my printer so I can print a couple pictures of the dogs.
I remember being away from home for the first time. I didn't feel homesick until I got my first letter from my dad. I wonder how he's really doing? I miss the Skype conversations we had.

Hi @golden-bellerina I hope he likes the rainbow heart I drew for him. Do you think he's too big to like something like that?

No, I think kids for a mom are babies always. :D

That nice work on the heart tells a lot about deep love you have for your Baby!! He will respond soon.

My son has a strange sense of humor like I do. I think he will definitely laugh. I hope so. :)

As he knows the degree of seriousness from mom's side but might it will give him a lot more energy! It tells that you care a lot about him.

I suspect that he's been kinda busy.

Yeah... me too @everittdmickey. I also suspect I'll get the second hug after graduation ceremonies too. LOL

I hope he writes soon! I am baffled though. What is taste the rainbow? In a veiled threat context that is!!! :0)

Circa 1980-something.


I believe what bit of hazing they're allowed, if I sent a little bag of these, he'd have to share it with his entire platoon of 43 soldiers-in-training. LOL Oooh, maybe a melted Hershey bar is better? tee hee.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78