Cyberpunk

in #personal6 years ago

Adding an avatar and banner.  Time to take this thing seriously, I suppose.

Was torn between a photo of my mug and a banner of a beautiful, serene view of the Atlantic from a boat and some crazy, uber-tech cyberpunk stuff.  Decided I would rather emphasize my love of the cyberpunk genre. Been a fan for quite some time, especially after reading "Cyberpunk" edited by Victoria Blake. Just a bunch of science fiction stories that more-or-less define the genre.

What's funny about that book is that even though it's newer (2013), a lot of the stories that make it up are 20 or 30 years old. I had read many of them as one-offs in Asimov's or Analog or some other now-defunct publication. I was just thrilled that I had found a book that contained so many of my favorites as well as a few I hadn't read up until that point.

Also a huge fan of the genre in video games, when you can find it. Syndicate and Syndicate Wars, for instance (the previous I first played on an Atari Jaguar). I was excited when I first found Blade Runner for PC back in the late 90's/early 00's. Shadowrun is another I recently discovered that I enjoy. Saving up to get Observer_ and looking forward to the release of Cyberpunk 2077 (if it ever gets finished).

Yes, cyberpunk is probably one of my most favorite genres next to noir fiction. Have begun writing a story set in a cyberpunk-noir dystopian future. The amount of world-building required for this project is something I haven't experienced as of yet in all my writing "career" (disclaimer: I am a writer, not an author. I have yet to pay a bill with proceeds from any work). 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66