There's No Such Thing As An Ill Wind

in #personal4 years ago (edited)

By this our sixth week of COVID-19's stay at home orders, having meals delivered or ordering take out, has given way to opening up "Preparing Everyday Meals for Dummies." or the like, for most of us. Personally I nearly suicided myself with a homemade "Egg Foo Yung" recipe. In all honesty I think the problem was the Soy Sauce I found in my fridge which I'm sure had a "Sell By" date of 2000! My building's elevators are small and now tenants have been told that only one person at a time may use them. People I've known for years to be kind and polite have nearly knocked me to the floor tryig to outrun me for the right to press the elevator call button on either of our elevators . Also lines form with six foot gaps at the enterance to our mail room so you can imagine the ire that is raised when a tenant waits and waits and then learns he has no mail in his mailbox. Believe me it's scarey. However, I found the most dangerous place to be before midnight is the buidling's laundry room, since social distancing limits it to only two people being able to load laundry at the same time. Some people are making a good living off of waiting in line and doing laundry for others, I'm sure. A posiitive side of this forced vacation is that I have found items I've been missing for some time due to having the time to sort through my pantry, closets and medicine cabinets. I've uncluttered my apartment by throwing out bag after bag of old clothes, shoes, as well as broken lamps, frayed extension cords and old Christmas decorations kept for sentimental reasons. Also I have rekindled acquaintances on FB which has led to more hours of laughter strung together than I can ever remember. I've also watched YouTube presentations that have had me in tears and others that have made me sit in awe and wonder at all there is to see and learn about this marvelous world of ours. Just like everyone else I want this crisis to be over, I haven't had a hug in weeks, and all the messages on TV telling me we're all in this together, aren't producing any warm fuzzies. But when I pray, and I do pray, I am praying for people I've never met and their families andI'm totally sincere in my wish for them to come pass this time intact. I care more about others having it so much harder than I am and that does prove to me that my MOM was right when she quoted "There's No Such Thing As An Ill Wind that doesn't blow someone some good." Maybe looking for that good will take us all through this crisis and out the otherside and do so with each of us a little better than we were before COVID-19 hit our world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61906.79
ETH 3418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48