Story time

in #personal7 years ago

clem-onojeghuo-143466.jpg

This week is story time.

Every day I am going to share with you a short chapter of an entrepreneur's story, and next Monday I'll explain the method behind the madness.

This is Maggie's story.

By most people's measure, Maggie is rich. She flies first class. She drives a cool car. She dresses like a million bucks.

But Maggie wasn't born wealthy.

Quite the opposite.

In fact, she was born broke and spent a great many years struggling to make ends meet. She worked hard to get a good education, and for quite a few years followed “the corporate path”.

The result was a middle-class 401K and a 25 year mortgage.

She was not satisfied, but she wasn't about to “take unnecessary risks.”

Until 2007 when she got laid off.

Like so many of us remember, it was a bleak time, and jobs were scarce.

So, Maggie realized that “unnecessary risks” were quickly becoming “necessary risks.”

Maggie decided to open a business.

With the funds from her 401K she set up a website and began her own consulting business. “My years of experience have to be worth money to lots of business owners.”

At least that was the plan.

Maggie talked about her experience. She went to networking events. She signed up for the chamber of commerce.

Despite all her preparations, the fish just weren't biting.

“What am I doing wrong?” she asked.

“I'm great at what I do. I've got experience. I'm not asking for too much investment. Why aren't people signing up for my services?”

“Maggie, my friend - you're only talking about yourself,” I advised. “Focus on the problems your potential clients are facing. Talk about them instead of you.”

And that's when she got her first client.

Stay tuned for tomorrow and I'll share with you how it all blew up in her face!

Want to improve your marketing?

Click here http://clickmeter2.com/27mm and check out our marketing services.

Yours,

Dennis
Listen. Think. Do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80