Rhythm and cadence

in #personal7 years ago

Why embracing your weaknesses is smart.jpg

Hey there,

Not long ago I wrote about understanding and taking into consideration your own weaknesses. Today I'm putting that advice in practice.

You see, I'm not by nature very disciplined.

In fact, I really don't like being told what to do.

That's why learning to be consistently productive has been a monumental challenge for me. You see, I'm pretty smart, know a lot of tricks and can often pull off pretty impressive “spurts” of productivity.

This is a strength...

...that begets a weakness.

Why?

Because I'm also prone to surfing the web and reading up on all sorts of weird topics that have little to do with what I should be doing. Amelia Earhart? You bet. Japanese ice cream that doesn't melt? Why not? The list goes on and on.

However, being successful requires consistent progress on your project.

You can't be starting a gazillion side projects at once. You can't leave important but “boring” tasks forever on hold. You can't be always chasing after the newest, latest technique or tool.

In a word - you have to be focused.

So, here's what I've learned to do - “spurt regularly”!

Since I know that consistency is important, but doesn't come naturally to me, I have learned to achieve “consistent spurts” of productive activity. While at the same time, I allow myself enough freedom go off on occasional tangents.

This, I've found, provides me with a good working rhythm and cadence.

Tell me, how do you work best?

Would you like for me to dedicate a “spurt” or two to your marketing?

If so, please click here http://clickmeter2.com/27mm and check out our full suite of marketing services.

Yours,

Dennis
Listen. Think. Do.

Sort:  

focus is always a problem, as I have many interest, but it is me and the way I have been forever. Should know better, especially since I coach people on this, I am now following you and have upvoted.

Thanks @johnnyray ! Why is it easier to give advice than follow it? :-)

a consultant gives advice, a coach helps people find the answer. I love helping others, and I guess it is kind of like the electrician that makes sure all electrical is perfect in a clients home, but never takes care of his own home

I definitely know the feeling. Always having to remind myself to do my own marketing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dennis Lewis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82