An old photo .. still warming my heart

in #personal7 years ago (edited)

My son just graduated from kindergarten. He is 6 going on 16, I swear.. Amazing how he changed. The beauty and magic of life is alive and well within him.

aydenme.jpg

Tonight I found an old photo, most likely when he was about 4 or so .. I recall the exact moment it was taken: Early autumn. We had just gotten done eating a very late dinner at a Crackerbarrel. Afterwards we stopped and played checkers--as we do each and every time we see a checkerboard in any public location! My wife snapped a quick photo. And it was a moment in time.

This may be my single favorite photo ever taken of my and Ayden. I recall the way the early fall chill was hitting our faces.. but yet the warmth of love of family made it go away. I recall the innocence of his youth, the pure and true love in his heart--love that still exists by the grace of God..

There are times when I believe my heaven, if one exists, will be this moment forever.

Nostalgia is normally something I recoil at.
But this photo?
I don't. Instead I embrace it. It is my solace.. And now I will save it in my 'rainy day' collection. Those little moments of nostalgia you actually want to recall when things go south.

Sort:  

Each and everyday your son will grow into his own; making his own decisions and actions. He will make you laugh, cry, smile, angry, joyful, resentful - sometimes he won't be able to express it but he'll always appreciate you and moments you two had together like the one captured in this photo.

:)

Thank you for that message.. That even made me tear up!

A rather exiting narration! Current moments less belong to present flowing steadily to join the past… Sad? Actually not at all))) going south things are as well for our happiness ;)

This is a precious period in your lives snatched to preserve an apprize day . I sense the spirit of a father and son's love. Your words only add to the photo 's energy. Thank you for allowing us to share this beloved moment in your life.
Congrats, @coalspeaker l you've been featured on "Steem is beautiful" https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemisbeautiful/what-makes-steem-beautiful-007
I am following, upvoting, resteeming and featuring you.

Welcome to Steemit > I'm happy you could join us.
Hope this Quick Start Guide will help you:
https://www.steemithelp.net/

george-carlin-WELCOME.gif
Stay Original >Stay Creative > SteemOn Daily

Keep steeming the dank memes